Voyages of Discovery

in #intro7 years ago

I feel like I've had a lifetime of voyages.
When I was 9 years old, I was on a Boeing 727 leaving Essendon airport in Melbourne Australia for Port Moresby, in the Australian Territory of Papua and New Guinea (today Papua New Guinea).
But my folks had started it. They were migrants to this country from Hungary. Displaced in 1948, they managed a berth (3 actually) on the ship 'Skaugum' in 1950,to a new country. It was no cruise liner. A converted troop carrier after the war, the Australian Government were trying to fill the void in the country with more europeans!IMG_0006.JPG
By the time I was born they had settled into a difficult country life raising 5 kids, surrounded by Australians who resented their non-english speaking existence in their little town !
So my Dad found a job and took us all to somewhere completely different!IMG_0499 4.JPG
It was great.
From then on Boeings and various other aircraft felt like a second home to me, so after deciding that I didn't want to be a priest anyway, (despite 6 years at a catholic boarding school and 4 years at a seminary) I landed a flight attendant job and really started moving around.
It was great.
Growing up then in the highlands of PNG was safe and adventurous too.
But then regularly flying around the world for 28 years was an adventure too.
When it was time to keep my feet on the ground though, and even after losing a life partner, there is still discovery.
I believe there is another great voyage coming in our time.
The sad discovery that we have all been taken on a ride by our governments has made me realise that I need to pack a different kind of bag. One that I hope will help me through the turbulence of what lies ahead for us all.
So here I am on Steemit (and I am no spring chicken) with some PM's,Bitcoin, Ether and Nem in my wallet and.....
....I'm ready to travel some more !!

Sort:  

Congratulations @skki! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!