Goinggreen Introducing myself

in #introduce6 years ago

Hello everyone, my name is Barbara.

I first heard about steemit from my daughter Cara miniaturesmallholding and son-in-law Shaun realtreebivey. Since it has come up on facebook from mypermaculture Permaculture being one of of my interests.

Last year we moved to our present home and husband Adrian and I are starting to make it as sustainable as possible on our limited budget. We are adapting to this new arid climate, very different for growing food in England. Many permaculture principals can adapt to different environments and a food forest would make a lovely garden.

20180206_143705.jpg

We are from UK and moved here to South Australia, following our daughter Cara and her family.

Recently retired from nursing, I am now regaining my own health and have time to follow my other interests of gardening, natural medicine, sustainability and all things natural that will help the earth and humanity.

I sometimes think of myself as a suburban forager now, recycling, picking up other peoples rubbish and making use of it as we can or recycling in our bins. 'Every little helps' the saying says.

I feel the medical system failed me, both in UK and Australia, although it is very good for emergency and life saving, it has not helped me find the cause of my health problems, I have had to go private. Working shifts within a stressful environment long hours with no guarentee of a break has made symptoms more severe.

I am looking forward to join in the Steemit communities who care for one another, their planet and the future of our race, our health and healthy food.

Sort:  

You're welcome ma
Sure, you'll have great times with this communities.
Pray a better and stronger health for you ma

Thanks damdap, looking forward to blogs on my interests and passions.

Sure
You can also follow me and see some of my posts, sure some will be of interest to you

I like your work with the garden. Keep putting some photos on and show how it's going 😊

Thanks mysecondself01, I have some before and afters, but spend so much time trying to keep on top of it, that don't get to write much. Hope to build my routine around steemit gradually

You have received an upvote from @livesustainably. I promote and curate content that encourages and educates others in living sustainably. You can support the live sustainably cause on Steemit by upvoting, resteeming and creating content under the tag #livesustainably.

Thank you @livesustainably. It was your post challange for the week that gave me the push to introduce myself. Have to get t he camera and start cooking now!

looking forward to seeing your entries!

Welcome to steemit @goinggreen! Can't wait to see what you got going on. Especially in the food forest!!😁

Thanks @hopfarmnc. Early days yet with food forest, having difficulty keeping plants alive on the heat we're having, got to grow my shade and get lots of compost and mulch in

You are doing a great job then. I am happy to hear about people like you - who care about their neighborhood and its environment.

You made a quiet entrance! Your granddaughter just told me today you were here.
When you get a bit of time, sign up for teamaustralia with @choogirl. The instructions are at the end of this post: https://steemit.com/teamaustralia/@choogirl/team-australia-new-recruits-14-02-18-and-do-you-fancy-yourself-as-a-tor-mentor-of-newbies