A new favorite past time - steemit.com

in #introduce7 years ago (edited)

My present day to day existence can be broken down into 4 passions which are:

FAMILY

I have been blessed with three intelligent, happy and healthy children ranging in age from almost eight to early twenties.
My life partner and soulmate has helped me overcome some predicaments which without her my life would have taken a very different route and for that i thank her.

CRYPTO CURRENCY

Wow, what a ride this little gem has been. I started building my own rigs and mining back in 2014. At that stage i was an avid alt coin fan believing one day that all my coins would be worth a fortune. I did not invest into bitcoin due to its volatility. My love of crypto was dealt a blow when the exchange Cryptsy folded taking a large portion of my alt coins with it. I recall being on holidays and transferring coins to the exchange even after there was a rumor of something amiss and withdrawals not being processed.
60% of the other alt coins i mined and brought are now worthless due to the developers leaving their project and subsequently the wallets and blockchains no longer syncing. I did manage to sell some coins that where still on exchanges late last year, recouping the funds that i spent on renting mining rigs.
I rebooted my crypto adventure a few months ago and thanks to guys like @craig-grant and @crypt0 have once again begun to build another crypto portfolio that includes STEEM. A few dollars have been made mining ETH and ETC to date. Hopefully i can use the lessons learnt to help others and avoid losses in the future.
20170625_101118.jpg

ORGANIC fruit and veg

A short introductory course in Permaculture when i was 16 started this passion which has lasted a lifetime. In every backyard where i have lived from Sydney to the Gold Coast there has been a little space created for the Organic garden. There is no better feeling than harvesting and preparing a meal made from the fruits of ones labor.
20160723_171240.jpg

KARATE

As a lot of kids do, i joined a karate school with my best friend at around 10 years of age. This only lasted for a year, but it was long enough to instill a passion. 30 years later my daughter joined a local dojo with her friend, she asked me to join also. I procrastinated and made every excuse not to go even though i had an urge to. She persisted and eventually a couple of months later i joined. Almost 18 months have passed and to be honest it has changed my life. My fitness level has increased, i am more confident, tolerant and respectful to others. But the most important result is that our relationship has grown stronger. Thanks Tilly20170618_202932.jpg

Passion is defined as :
a strong feeling of enthusiasm or excitement for something or about doing something and a strong and barely controllable emotion, therefore i am passionate about the future of crypto currency and platforms like steemit.

I have some cool ideas to help with the adoption of crypto currency that i will share in upcoming posts, thanks for taking the time to read my introduction.
20170625_121113.jpg

Sort:  

Those are four very good passions. I can relate to the first two.

Hey! I hope you can check out my last post.