You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Introducing Mark Hoge – I LARP for a Living - I’m passionate about ethical leadership, experiential education, conflict resolution, conscious parenting, storytelling, fantasy writing, RPGs, and personal growth

Hey Mark! Welcome to Steemit, I'm sure glad you're here.

I am a huge fan of initiatives like yours, and I'm thrilled to see you on here and sharing it with us all! I'm a LARPer and a parent, so Renaissance Adventures and all that it does resonates with me.

Interactive storytelling - and especially LARP - is such a fantastic resource for teaching kids not just to revel in their imaginations but also for teaching them methods, like conflict resolution and critical thinking, which they might not get otherwise. Getting to raise my daughter in an environment where both me and my wife have been or are involved in RP - and nearly all of our closest friends are as well, either through LARP or the SCA and so on - has already begun to rub off on her, even though she's only three years old.

Looking forward to reading and commenting on your content in the future!

Sort:  

Thanks Beowulf! Appreciate your big appreciation! And thanks for Resteeming - that's huge! So awesome you LARP and RP with your kids.

SCA is great - I played in my teens and early twenties; then got more involved with LARPs. Curious what part of the country you are in. I'm working on taking my 20+ years of experience and transfering it into training videos, ops manuals, and coaching to help others start similar experiential education companies LARP'ing with kids. If you know anyone who may want to do this - have them contact me. Following you now - Rock On!

Great to have another follower, welcome!

I'm in the northeast, which has a very strong LARP and SCA background - and I know quite a few folks who are either involved in running games right now or have done so in the past. I will steer them your way if they're interested!

Excellent! Thanks!
BTW, I was a squire to Earl Sir Gyrth Oldcastle, in Maryland, back in 1980, during my senior year in high school. Then moved west, so it was a short-lived but greatly appreciated mentorship with him. :)

Wow you're old-school aren't you? I think Gyrth sadly passed away in 2004, didn't he?

I'm up in the hinterlands of the East Kingdom. I'm not heavily involved but I have some dear friends that are, especially in the Shire of Glenn Linn. It's always fun and interesting around here!

I'm not sure when he passed. In the last year I managed to get in touch with mel, his wife, and had some good contact with her over the FB chat. Good people!