HELLO WORLD! HELLO STEEMIT! WHAT AM I LOOKING FOR HERE?

in #introducemyself6 years ago (edited)

(This post was written originally in Spanish, so this is a translation. English is not my strong point... but I will try.)

The answer to the question of the title is simple: readers! In fact everyone who writes (will it be the same to say writer?) needs readers. But whoever wants to win readers must have something to offer them. So the first step is to expose the offer.

IMG_4533.JPG

I start by introducing myself. I am a teacher of mathematics and physics with a master's degree in applicable mathematics. Said that, it places science as one of my hobbies. For the purposes of what my readers will find here, I can say that one of my topics is spreading of science. That is, the expression of scientific ideas in an appropriate language, for all those who do not have specialized technical training. However, I do my best to be pleasant enough, so that even those who do have that training can read me. Within the scientific spreading my main topics are the history of mathematics and some of its mysteries. I have published three books on this subject; their covers are in the picture that follows the paragraph. Another topic that I have proposed to disseminate recently is modern physics, both as regards relativity and quantum physics.

Libros.png

Did you notice that I spoke of hobbies, not of job? Actually, that coincides with my idea that work was not done as punishment; whoever assumes it, is sunk: you should enjoy what you do. There are hobbies with which you can earn some money and those you call work. There are others, on the other hand, that do not give you a penny, perhaps the opposite: of what you earn with the first you get for the second ones. In my particular case, a second hobby of this type is the cinema. And when I talk about movies, I'm talking about the movie of 1920 as that of 2018; of an American that of a French, Italian or Venezuelan; of one of cowboys that of an intimist drama; one in black and white that one color; of one with human actors that of one with cartoons. Cinema is the seventh art ... and I like to talk about that, not with the attitude of an expert (which I am far from being) but with the enthusiasm of a voyeur who wants to share the movie he liked or express his disenchantment with the one that did not enjoy. Maybe you enjoy the one I hated, reject the one I liked or share my point of view. In any case, I would like to know. Your comments will expand my horizon, no doubt.

IMG_0218.JPG

So, here you will get science (mathematics, mainly) and cinema, interconnected or not. I intend to migrate articles from my blog to this platform. It is possible then that some of you have already read them. That should not be an obstacle to put your kind comments.

Other topics may appear. After all, the platform is free. But fundamentally I put the cards over the table. I wait for you.

Sort:  

Nice introduction, you have really spoken well about yourself

Thank you. I am trying to spread science from 35 years ago. I hope to see you again.

Congratulations @dougjim! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome to Steem Community @dougjim! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch