A Bitcoiner who Lost His Way // my introducemyself

in #introducemyself7 years ago

Hello Folks,

About 6 years ago, I started getting very interested in Bitcoin. I was in my second year of Business school, studying international finance in a school in Southeast Asia and felt like most of my formal education was missing the recent history of the financial crises.

I saw Bitcoin as exciting and extremely democratic in how it allowed those to gain value by creating value, without the ordinary barriers involved.

The capitalist side of me also recognized that Bitcoin was a powerful and valuable tool, even outside of its idealogical virtue. I certainly expected the commercialization of blockchain technology and still expect central banks to adopt derivatives of it in the near future.

All of this led me to be active in the BTC community at that time. I moderated a now-defunct community and chatroom, wrote articles on commission, played poker, and invested in a few friends' projects; all without ever paying fiat for cryptocurrency. It was an exciting time of life.

Fast forward two years and I was a young father taking a full load of classes while working for the government (no spy/hacker shit) to pay the bills. There was little time in my life for what I considered a hobby, and I believe that led to a somewhat critical mistake.

I dropped out.

I let my wife go on a shopping spree with the change that I had left (which ironically finally convinced her that my monopoly money was worth something), and said goodbye to the friends that I had made.

Now, I've advanced to the top of a career that I have learned wasn't right for me and have now begun a journey of independence and entrepreneurship that I wish I had begun immediately. As part of this journey, I've come back to a whole new world of BTC. So many things have changed, yet so many things remain the same.

We started accepting bitcoin for my wife's business last week, and yesterday I started a new small holding of Bitcoin. I plan to add about $20 a day to this holding, while looking for ways to get these funds to work for me. Expect a lot of my posts to be centered on that endeavour.

I am excited to join and explore the Steem coommunity, as writing is a natural form of expression for me and I look forward to getting re-connected with bitcoiners around the globe.

Thanks for reading,

Jumpy

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit! I'm following, looking forward hearing more about your endeavour :)

Thanks for being the first to welcome me! It's at least a sign that this place isn't a ghost town.

How long have you been "Steem-ing"?

No problem! I love to see new people come in and bring valuable content to Steemit :)
I've been steeming for 3,5 months now, and Steemit has got me hooked! Working hard to gain a following, next goal is 200 followers :) have fun over here,i think you will fit right in!

Welcome to Steemit!!@jumpy I will follow. Looking forward to reading your
post. Take care @happyhousewife

Thanks for the warm welcome. I'm already super excited about Steemit!

I just realized that this post was filed in the wrong category. It should have been in #introduceyourself, but I mistakenly posted in #introduceyourself.

Not an auspicious beginning to my Steemit career.