I'm Laowhy86 - China Based YouTuber/Actor

in #introducemyself7 years ago

IMG_0193.JPG

For those of you who don't know me or my channel, I am Laowhy86 (http://www.youtube.com/laowhy86) - a China based YouTuber/Actor.

lawhy.jpg

Having lived in China for over 8 years, I decided awhile back to start a YouTube channel to document my adventures, and my general impressions of daily life. Since I started, the channel has shot up in popularity (138,000 subscribers, 22,000,000 views), and a significant community has grown around my family and I. I teamed up with the biggest YouTuber in China, SerpentZA, to create a second channel - ADVChina, which is a talk show about China, societal issues, and what is generally happening in the country from the eyes of an American, and a South African. This channel has also taken off in popularity, with almost 120,000 subscribers.

From there we also teamed up with a production team from England to follow our journey in a TV documentary, Conquering Southern China where SerpentZA and I rode our handbuilt motorcycles across southern China over 5000 km. We specifically took the back roads to be able to interact with the real rural citizens of China, and the show was met with critical acclaim.
(http://www.imdb.com/title/tt6050292/).

With the second season, Conquering Northern China in production now, I have plenty of stories and insights from not only my time living here, but also my adventures around nearly the entire country.

MV5BY2ZhNWQyMGQtYmYyMC00OWMzLWI3Y2MtOTYwOGNjNTJhODQ0XkEyXkFqcGdeQXVyMzA2MzYxMDU@._V1_SY1000_SX675_AL_.jpg|20246413_1627262050626162_4428807248112095960_n.jpg

The community surrounding Laowhy86, ADVChina, and SerpentZA have led me to Steemit, and I am really excited start posting here participating in the community. I have read through the goal and mission of Steemit, and I feel it's something that me, and the whole Laowinner community can get behind (you guys know who you are!).

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

Great to see you made it to steemit, I have just moved over to steemit also, and came from twitter where I have around 700,000 followers. As such, it will be interesting to see how you plan to move your followers over to steemit with you. I will be watching closely

We get our followers drip by drip as we share over to the other platforms and networks. We got to just remain constant through a lot of MOMENTUM and be patient & make videos & memes and GIFs and articles and everything and tag and link our stuff to Steemit and share our stuff everywhere each day. Be creative. Keep going. Good work. Thanks.

Thank you so much!

It should be an interesting process, and I hope we manage to move a lot of them to this awesome platform!

Hey C-Milk, I'm glad you checked it out, I'm resteeming your post! Konrad.

Thanks Konrad! Really happy you suggested this :)

Dude, my pleasure! Together with @mayasiam we have been watching your videos for over a year now.

Wow, that is fantastic. What a cool platform this is!

Is winston here on steemit?

Hi Mathew, awesome pic and your campest smile ever ;-)

Hey @laowhy86 C-Milk, I watch your YouTube videos often, along with SerpansZAs. I loved the Conquering South China series and can't wait to watch the Conquering Northern China series. Keep up the good work

Cheers
Rob

Thanks so much for watching and enjoying our show! We all can't wait to see CNC, which should be out around October/November. Then we have to compete with audiences binging on Stranger Things, season 2 haha

Wishing you all the best. I very much look forward to October/November. I will be sure to watch it :)

YYYYYYYYYYYEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS!

Did you guys read the comments I made on Youtube about joining Steemit? I mention you guys so often when I talk about China on Steemit, so glad I can now link a Steemit account in those convos :D.

Will Prozzie, Vivi and Serpant join as well? :)

Awesome stuff! A few people told me about Steemit, and I am sure you were one of them that pushed me towards the site. You know how it is when people recommend a new social media, but eventually it clicked haha. I will try and get them over here, but they are not much for writing :)

Mathew, you are the second of my favorite youtubers to get a steemit account,
@silversmyth was the first, I will ask her to follow you,

Fantastic! I should learn from her approach to getting her subscribers here too!

Hi Mathew,
I sent her some of your videos too, months ago,
and the approach of dropping her name here and there is mine, not hers...I would not blow my own trumpet, so to speak but I like to share stuff from Youtubers I like... even with other Youtubers ...

Thanks for answering, :-)

Good luck! I hope your blog is successful.

This post received a 2.3% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @sepracore! For more information, click here!

@laowhy86 Welcome to Steemit! its great having you. Congratulations on all your Youtube success and your acting career in China. It sounds like you have lots to offer Steemit and share with us. Im looking forward to more of your post.

Welcome to steemit :D Great to see so many new people here.

welcome to Steemit. Nice to meet you. That's awesome your YT channel is so popular, not an easy feat.

I want to invite you to my WeChat Steemit Support Group <-- name of group. It's great place to learn about Steemit and network for a better experience here. It's mostly people in China locals and expats.

Followed and Upvoted.

Yesssss!!!!!

Thanks so much! I will join now!

Woo-hoo! If you are on steemit chat you can find either me or solarguy there, and we can drag you into the group.

I added you on WeChat

Hello, welcome to Steemit and enjoy :-)

Nice man! I'm actually a longtime subscriber of both You and winston, You guys both inspired Me alot and motivated to get off My butt and do something. I've been traveling for more than 2 years now and have been to Australia, Thailand, Taiwan, and Vietnam. I have also taught English in Vietnam and competed in pro esport competions in Australia. I also went from 250 pounds to 182 pounds. I have also been doing Photography for over a year now. So thanks alot guys for Your awesome and inspiring videos. I have changed into a new person, and Yours and winstons vids helped motivate Me early on. Among other things obviously. But anyways, congrats on all Your success man! I remember when You have under 20,000 subs.

That is the best thing I will read all day, I am sure. Thank you so much for your support, and I am so happy that I had a part in your inspiring move and lifestyle changes!

I am honored man, no worries. It's great to see You succeed from Your humble beginings, and to enjoy Your great content. Thankyou for the inspiration haha, and I hope You continue to entertain and inspire others for a long time. Thanks for responding too! Have a great day, and I look foward to seeing more ADVchina! I hope You guys get a tv show after conquring Northern China this time, You must have a better chance this time. Good luck to You and Winston!

Welcome again @laowhy86! great to have our here, newly created Giphy for you... steem on!

welcome, buddy! this is a great place to be to publish all your adventures, followed you and waiting for your all future blog post on this wonderful community, resteemed your blog!

Thank you so much!

Welcome to Steemit, and welcome to the wechat group. Here's to all your success on this platform! 🍻🥂🍾

I appreciate it!

Great to have you here!

Thanks, Yogi, glad to be here as well!

Spread the word to Winston & Prozzie :)

Good luck with your blog. I like your channel and SerpentZA.

Awesome, thank you!

Awesome to see you here. I follow you and Winston for over one year on youtube now! Hope you enjoy it here on Steemit ! :)

Thanks for this! I appreciate it!

Love your videos about China, can't wait for Conquering Northern China!

Thank you so much! We can't wait either :)

I have resteemed your post. You will do great on Steemit.

I live in Vietnam near China. Love videos.

Awesome, thank you!

Nice man. You're in China quite a while. I'm going on 3 years here. Welcome to join our wechat group for Steemit. @solarguy mentioned it I believe. #ssg

Done and done! Whereabouts in China are you?

Welcome! Just checked out your channel, and it's amazing!

Thank you so much! I really appreciate it. Welcome to the family!

Just subscribed! And join us on our WeChat group @solarguy created :p
Also, if you want check out my posts :p (shameless plug lol)

I added you on WeChat

Do you have my WeChat ID? I found your facebook page and sent you my wechat ID there in messages. :p

Yeah, I got it now!

Welcome to Steemit! Resteemed and followed :P

Thank you! Followed as well!

Welcome to Steem @laowhy86 I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Thank you! Great to be here!

C-milk, I think he's a bot!

lololol

You'll get used to bots and spam commenters!

Welcome to steemit buddy :)

The almighty Beard has found me. You magnificent boy.

Welcome to Steemit you sexy German from Buffalo AKA C-Milk or @laowhy86!
set_leonardo_dicaprio_cheers.gif
Now to get that Ottawa boy on here as well (I hear he doesn't work much:)

He got an awesome job, so no worries on that front. Anyway, I don't think he can spell. Thanks for the welcome! So crazy to see so many subs here!

Hi and welcome to Steemit. I do hope that you have a wonderful time on this platform, if you have any questions or if there is anything I can help you with do not hesitate to ask, I will be more than happy to help.
If you would like to stay in touch please Follow me @Fshllc

Thanks so much! Will do!

welcome to steemit! followed you pls follow back ;)
have fun!

Welcome to steemit and good luck!!

I think you're going to give us a unique perspective on China, can't wait to read some posts

Welcome to steemit @laowhy86! (C-milk)

Upvoted, resteemed and now following your blog!

Expecting Winston here as well!

Thank you so much for this! I'll try and get him over here!

Welcome!! lots of adventure there!!!
I'm sure you speak chinese ?
have a great time here!
Cheers! upvoted!

是的我会讲中文!以后我打算在这个论坛写英文和中文 :)

followed !
amazing! I translated it. chinese community is big here!
have a great time!!!

Thanks so much! Can't wait to contribute!

hey, google translate seems to do Chinese a lot better than Japanese and it is beyond awesome that you and Winston learned it in mere years, I tried to learn Russian once long ago but gave up after a few months...my native language is Dutch ;-)

Chinese can be harder to master than Vietnamese.

meep

hey meepman! love meepin' in to you ;-)

doesn't Laowhy means foreigner in chinese ? welcome to steemit :)

Finally got in C-Milk now I just need to see how to give you some of my Steemit 😉

Youtube comes to Steemit wow thats awesome!:) Im on youtube a lot and Im glad I found someone new to watch!:) Welcome abroad! Best of luck on here and in your projects!! xoxoxox

Welcome to Steemit! I've seen a few of your videos but definitely gotta check out the Conquering shows.

Hi there, awesome pics!

Thanks for that!

Hi, nice to meet you! Awesome pics.

Thank you!

upvoted my friend ....... check mine as well if you like https://steemit.com/@bllackwidow ........... all new members should help each other as the ones who make money usually neglect us

Sounds good, thank you for your suggestion :)

Welcome to Steemit Laowhy86 :) Glad to see more people like you - here joining Steemit! Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me .

Thanks so much!

Nice! Looking forward to more posts from you, keep up the good work! Check out my blog and follow if you're interested.

Thank you!

Welcome to this amazing community @laowhy86
Great intro, I hope you will enjoy steemit. Wish you to have a great time on here. You can enjoy my posts too and follow me as well at @pastorlea. Thank you and have a good one

Followed, thank you!

you will do great here, I am sure

Welcome to Steemit!

Thank you, Joseph!

Great to see you here, have been following you guys and was wondering when you will be on Steemit and its about time too!

Fantastic! Awesome to be here!

Welcome to Steemit!
Good luck with your journey

welcome! I was wondering, how do you upload videos to youtube in China? Which VPN do you use? Thanks :)

I have used a multitude of VPNs but currently, I am using Shadow Socks. Works great! Thanks!

Neat! Welcome to Steemit! I've seen some SerpentZA's youtube videos. Anyways, where in China are you based right now?

P.S We both introduced ourselves on the same day.... 这个就叫缘分

Thanks for that! I am in Guangdong, and welcome! We are both newbs!

@laowhy86, I'm an American in Saigon, Vietnam, near China, near you. I can say KNEE HOW as in hello. I can say CHIN CHOW also as in hello in Vietnamese. Welcome to Steemit.

Fantastic. Thank you so much!

There are 2 pages
Pages