[PaA] Clarissa Cooper - Say Welcome To The Fitness Model Next Door

in #introducemyself8 years ago

Awesome Body Transformation. Clarissa lost 20 kg (44 lbs). We had an interview with her, about how she made it. So let´s say welcome to Clarissa. Maybe, if we welcome her well, she will join us on Steemit :P … so be nice.

Hey Guys,

my brother and I traveled about 1500 km (960 miles) and 36h to meet Clarissa. She lost about 20 kg and has made a huge transformation. She worked really hard for her goals and we´d like to tell you how she has made it. May she can inspire someone to change his way of life. She already infected me. So let's see, if she can have an impact on you, too.

Who are you?

I'm Clarissa, 23 years old / young. I'm from Berlin, born and raised here. I just begun studying fitness economics, after having studied the wrong thing for years.


(Credit: Shot by Tobias Dombrowski, h&m by Candice Carvey)

What did you study previously?

Horticultural Sciences.

What led to this decision?

It was a wet idea. I didn't know what to do after school and it was better than nothing. Shortly after making the general qualification for university entrance, your personality is not that mature and you don't really know what you want to do with your life.

On Facebook, your name is "Clarissa Cooper". Where does the name come from?

By Marissa Cooper in OC California. Being a fragile and unstable person, I was identifying myself with her quite a lot in my youth. Besides, I did not want everybody to find me on Facebook. That's how I became Clarissa Cooper.

What's the course of the fitness economics studies?

It's a so-called "dual study". This means, I go to the university for four weeks, followed by four weeks at a gym. I learn how to make personal training, how to create, plan and perform them. I've been doing bodybuilding for three years now and the studies are a whole new experience, with new, interesting impressions and people.

How did you get into fitness?


I've always been a misfit. Even at school. There were the "cool kids" and I wasn't. I was like my own master, doing my own thing. However, I was very unhappy with myself and my body, but also very lazy. At some point I said to myself, Clarissa, if you want to achieve something you have to work on yourself. Wanting to work out is not the most important thing, however. The most important thing is discipline. Doing the same things over and over and over again.

Today, I'm not a real human being without sports. If I can't do sports, I am unbalanced and I get bored. I also need that to get rid of stress. It's a relief and an equalizer. Some day, you see yourself in the mirror, you see the first small changes to yourself and your self-confidence and self-esteem is suddenly quite different than before. You get to know yourself better. You learn to love yourself. You'll still have points to criticize about yourself, but then you should remember what you've achieved already. Look back to see that the way up isn't straightforward. It's always a roller coaster ride. And that's your own bad. Sure, going to McDonald's will have your belly swell again. Sh.. happens, that's just LIFE and you should never take it too seriously. One must not forget that there's some life beside that fitness stuff.

How many times a week do you exercise?

5-6 times a week. When I prepare for a photo shoot, then there's some cardio units additionally.

How much time do you need for the fitness / cardio training?

Cardio exercising is about 20 - 40 minutes per training unit. Preferably that's jogging. In addition to that some burpees or pushups followed by 45 minutes to 2 hours of strength training. That depends on the muscle group that's in the focus of that training.

Do you work out alone or together with other people?

That depends. There are phases when you have to do your exercises alone, 'cause you're just focusing on yourself. There are also phases when you enjoy the company of others around. Bodybuilders say: "You need someone who is stronger than you."
You achieve more when you find someone who's on the same or even a better training level than you. Pushes you up.

Do you work out with a coach?

Of course you have people helping you. A friend of mine is a personal trainer and we discuss lots of things. But I've also always been a person doing lots of things on her own. I'm saying, nowadays, you can learn a lot by researching the internet. There are people selling programs for 300 bucks, but actually, you can learn everything for free on the internet. It's all about your discipline. The stuff that's on the market works, you only have to find out what works best for you. May it be training programs or plans for your diet, you just have to try them and listen to your body.

Please describe a typical day in your life.

At times when I prepare for a photo shoot a typical day (which can be quite "hardcore") is like this: First of all, I will have pre-cooked (for example sugarfree Muffins


everything the day before. That means snacks, breakfast, lunch and dinner. After getting up, I go running for about 20 minutes, but not on an empty stomach. I have to eat a little bit before running, it won't do me good otherwise. Hence, I eat 1-2 ,rice cakes. Afterwards, I have breakfast. Then I go to work or university, having the training gear with me. Work or study, have lunch, work / study again and afterwards I am at the gym for 2-4 hours.

I then go home, have dinner, and I go to bed early.

What's your favourite exercise?


"Squats" - with 70 kg of additional weight.

Do you have a plan for training certain muscle groups on certain days?


No, not really. I rely very much on my feeling. There should be a system you follow, but as other things in life, working out is also a matter of feeling. You have develop that feeling and learn to understand the signs of your body. To avoid the workout becoming boring, you should incorporate some varieties in training.

Your favourite music while exercising?

Contra K - German Rap / Underground. He raps about motivation and loyalty a lot and this motivates me for my workout. Especially if you do not feel like working out, music is very helpful to motivate you.

What's your favourite Contra K song?

Jetzt erst recht. (now more than ever)

How do you stay motivated? (At times you absolutely don't want to do the workout)

It's normal that you're not always top motivated when going to work out. You have bad days sometimes. Sometimes the voice inside says: "Don't we want to put off training till tomorrow?" - By then you say "Now more than ever" Then I pack my stuff immediately and go to the gym. I also get motivated by others, for example by Instagram, other fitness models there who motivate me when showing their preparations for competitions. It's just lovely to see that you're not alone. There are others fighting, as well. No matter how you look, if you're the "biggie" trying to get rid of a few kilos or if you're the "skinny", trying to get some muscles. You can easily be motivated by them - because they are motivated, themselves.

How did you feel when starting out?


It was a shitty feeling. The guys were only standing around staring at you while the girls would chat behind your back. But then you have say to yourself: "Now more than ever". Show them what you can and what you're made of. You just have to get through this. Of course you compare yourself to others. That's all natural. Everyone does it - especially at the gym.

How and when came the first reactions from others?

First reactions came when I really focused on my diet. Diet is 60% of your success. You can work and work as much as you want, you'll not be properly defined and sporty unless you have the right diet. Eating garbage, no sports in the world will make you look good. After completely changing my diet, it took about 6 months till I heard "Wow, what happened to your belly?" "What happened to you?". You have to give your body the time it needs, nothing happens overnight. Especially, if you don't want to just lose 2 kilos for your summer vacation but want to lose weight on the long term. If you really want to lose weight, I recommend not to do a radical nutritional regimen. You won't keep it up, anyway, and it's always ending up with the nasty yo-yo effect. If you decide to do something for your body, you go for the long term. You have to keep in mind, it's a lifestyle thing. You have to do this consequently, at least you will want to maintain the results. Your body has a so-called "equilibrium line". It will stay at a certain weight level unless you eat really much. Then that line will go up if you do, but the good thing is, when you change your diet, you'll get back to the starting point again.

What impact have you observed on your environment?

There are people I have no longer contact with. They couldn't cope with my change. My lifestyle. I think it has to do with envy, which is a real pity. Some good friendships broke. Many begrudge you. Especially the immediate environment. When you're shopping or spending a day at the beach, for example.

What could be the reason for envy?

Laziness and dissatisfaction with oneself. If others have things you don't, then that's pretty normal, actually. May it be the car, the looks, or anything else. You'll always find a reason to be envious of others. But it brings you nothing. Of course you compare yourself to others, but actually it does not help you. It's very much depending on genetics. If you have big shoulders or not. If you have a nice booty.


Many women want that big "Kim Kardashian Booty", but no bodybuilder's legs. This is, however, predisposed genetically. Depending on your muscles, on how many each person has got. You can't change that. New muscles don't come out of the blue. The existing muscles are just getting bigger.

Many people come up to you when you made it and are successful, asking "How did you do this?". There were many people I knew from school approaching me years after finishing it to ask me about my success. Basically, they never wanted to have anything to do with me. And now they're my Instagram followers. How quickly things can change sometimes. How superficial many things are.

What do you see when you look into the mirror? How did your perception change?

That depends. There are times when you keep criticizing yourself and there are times when you say to yourself "You're a damn hot chick!" It strongly depends on your recent lifestyle. In times when you party a lot and don't worry too much about your diet, you don't feel too comfortably with the looks in the mirror. But then you get back to your workout and be your own role model.

Do you actually have an inspiring role model?

I have had someone for quite a while, but I finally realized that you don't do yourself any good with that. Everyone is individual and unique and therefore it's not a good idea to look up to someone.

How long does it take to accept this?

We always have some kind of idealistic pictures in our heads - getting rid of these is one of the hardest things in life. You should just accept yourself the way you are and stop looking into the neighbor's garden. That only brings you to heels.

Are you happier today than earlier in your life?

Yes, absolutely!

Where do you see yourself in five years?

That's a question I was asked last during a recent job interview. I think I want to work with people and work on people. I know how it was for me when I started and I want to give advice to other people in the form of PT. I want to specialize in diet and health. And help people to create simpler and more beautiful lives for themselves.

Family planning?

That's very far away from me by now. I'll be having kids in my early thirties, I guess. But my studies come first, then the career, and I want to enjoy life a bit longer.

Can you imagine to quit exercising ever again?

No, absolutely not!

Should your partner be into sports as well?

He should do sports, but he doesn't have to make my sport. I think he should just have a hobby, even if it's only golf. I don't want a couch potato, that wouldn't work for me.

But he doesn't have to be a bodybuilder?


I find it aesthetic and beautiful, but he doesn't have to be "Mr. Universe". I think it's a matter of characteristics, the chemistry must just be right.

What are your next projects?


(Credit: shot by Büsra Kahriman, h&m by Natascha Müller)

I'll do two photo shoots next month. Over the last few months, I didn't worry too much about myself, so I am currently starting exercising at full power again. I'm of course at the gym regularly as usual, but my food was a bit "trashy" during the summer. Thankfully, my inner voice then gets aloud and scolds me. Just because I know how hard everything was to achieve. Especially when standing in front of the camera, you have to give everything you can.

Would you want to go for a competition one day?

That's difficult to answer. It's a bit of a shame thing. Standing in front of the people wearing nothing than a bikini. That's also pretty much of a Barbie thing - with greasy make-up and sunless tanning. That's just not me. I may be encouraged by others regularly: "You gotta do this, you belong on stage". I may enjoy watching it and love the atmosphere every time around, but you also show your naked ass to the world. That just doesn't fit into my boundary of shame. It's totally different to show yourself with pictures than to present your butt to the world. I would, for example, never never do naked photographs.

What would you say to people who don't feel comfortable in their bodies?

Now more than ever! If you're dissatisfied with yourself and your body, go out there find something you enjoy and just do it. Not everybody has to do bodybuilding. I believe everyone can find a sport which is fun. And pay attention to your healthy diet. You don't have to eat vegetables and chicken all the time. There are many super foods" out there that come without sugar, enabling you to bake muffins that are completely sugar-free - and delicious!


(Credit: shot by Büsra Kahriman, h&m by Natascha Müller)

You just should do something.

- Clarissa Cooper


Thanks to everybody supporting us so far. Especially @ines-f for the translation.

What is our Blog about: Introducemyself Post

Visit us on Instagram

Visit Clarissa on Instagram

Sort:  

So much upvoted this!

Thank you! We really put a lot work in it!
Btw. feel free to hit the follow button :P

Followed you! I do fitness actively myself too!

Very inspiring post. Would love to see Clarissa posting fitness tips at steemit on a regular basis. I would follow her account for sure.

Thxx!

she looked ok before, not overweight - but she does look more toned now and has a more healthy glow around her. Keeping healthy is important and starting at an early age and making it a lifestyle is a good thing.

I totaly agree! :D

I'm just gonna do something then ;)

Did you already get started? ;)

No ;) Any second now. Starting something new is hard, sticking to it even harder.
Think I'm gonna hit the gym again. It's been 3 years since my last visit there. Need to build some musclemass.
I recently took up photography, so I'm actually already doing something new :P

Man start something! :D Like Clarissa said: "You just should do something.". Go flex some muscles!! :D :D
Yeah, yeah photography, such wow, much awesome :P :D
Best of luck!

Much thanks, such wow!

She's too skinny now. Tho I'd bang her before and after (that's as "nice" as a latin can be... sorry)

That feedback tho ;D. But do you really think she is to skinny?

Welcome To Steemit
Check out
Steemtools.com
& Whitepaper
@ Steem.io