Let me introduce myself! Pit stop at Yellowstone National Park

in #introducemyself7 years ago (edited)

IMG_0028.JPG

After an amazing experience in Madras' OR for the total solar eclipse, we finally arrived at our second destination, Yellowstone National Park. It was 5pm as we pulled through the gates. 7,000ft elevation so chewing gum to pop my ears was a must. I had always wanted to stop here because my Dad always wanted to stop at Yellowstone and to this day my father has not been there. Tons of traffic on the roads because a lot of people traveling to see the eclipse wanted to stop at Yellowstone. We followed the signs for the Old Faithful Geyser. My friend Joe said that was the only thing he never saw so we put that as the priority. On the way there we stopped at a breath taking waterfall and we stood on a cliff that overlooked everything. My friends were standing supper close to the edge and taking pictures and as I went to get closer my stomach started dropping. It was intense. At least 1,000 ft drop. We all gathered as close to the edge as possible and snapped a group photo. As soon as the picture was taken I walked back 10 ft. LOL. We went back to the van and made some PBJ sandwiches and enjoyed the amazing scenery. The trail advisor told us that Old Faithful would be going crazy around 8pm. We arrived at Old Faithful and were greeted extremely well. Someone offered me a beer while I was standing there waiting for the geyser to go off. After being on the road for days I excepted the beer. It was a budweiser I couldn't say no. Soon after Old Faithful started going nuts. Below in the pictures you can see the water about 50ft up. It was incredible. And to think we were all standing on top of lava. It went off for about 10-15 minutes and after it was over we sat back watched the sun and soaked in the fact that we were all just sitting on Old Faithful. It was a feeling of happiness because the 2 things we set to accomplish we did. All the other national monuments we saw (over 50) were just bonuses to us. The feelings we had were amazing feelings! Positive feelings! Feelings of complete freedom. I truly recommend getting a group of your friends together and creating a coast to coast road trip of your own. Words cannot explain what my eyes saw! So except my advise and just do it!! We parked our van in a pull off spot in yellowstone and got some sleep. 6AM alarm clock set with plans to leave YellowStone and travel to Mt. Rushmore.... stayed tuned..... Yellowstone to Mt. Rushmore coming soon! Enjoy the pics. They were all taken by our crew! <3 -TheTravelMan-back1.jpgback 3.jpgback 4.jpg

Sort:  

U ARE WELCOME TO STEEM BRO....HAVE FUN

Welcome to Steem @thetravelman I have upvoted and sent you a tip

thanks @bottymcbotface im still a new!! Gotta figure out how it works lol!! Im going to follow you now!

Great. Thanks for sharing. I'm starting to follow you.

thank you!!!

That's on my bucket list. I go to the black hills yearly luv it out there wouldn't wanna go with a car I like going down the beaten path gold panning site seeing watching nature oh that is awesome

i saw some sweet buffalos in the black hills!! Amazing vibes!! thats awesome!

Congratulations @thetravelman! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This post has received a 13.79 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @chiefmappster. Send 0.100 or more SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote.

To support our curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

thank you! still kind of new to this site so any tips send them my way! Cheers!!

welcome to steemit @thetravelman
following you now. :D
follow me back pls :)

rock on!! thank you !!

HAHA! NATURE SHIT, LOOKING LIKE A CREW O DEWDS TAKING GOOD TIME, HAHA MAD RESPECT🌳🌳🌳

hell yea!! a rowdy crew !! The pit stops in Colorado and Oregon were nice lol ;)

Piccata? Titicaca! I am Cornholio! I need piccata for my bunghole!

nice! i followed you!! follow me back!!