I'm a clueless newcomer.

in #introducemyself8 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit community !

I'm very new here, and must say I'm still almost clueless on how to live in the Steemit community even after I read STEEMIT 101 and other various How-to posts. I'm hoping I will get it gradually.

This morning I posted Norwegian Woods - The Beatles or Haruki Murakami? , and then realized that it seems that it is custom that a newcomer post one in #introducemyself. So this is it.

[Photo: I took this from the rooftop of my friend's apartment with iPhone 6]

I was born in Japan and live in New York now, but between the two, I have lived, studied, worked in and visited many different places on earth, Asia, Africa, Middle East, Europe and North America. Still I travel overseas every 6 to 8 weeks for my work.

One day last summer of 16, I came across Satoshi Nakamoto's paper Bitcoin: A Peer-to-Peer Electronic Cash System . I had heard about Bitcoin before, but never paid much attention to Bitcoin, and more so to such a concept as Blockchain that lies behind Bitcoin and other crypt0currencies.

Satoshi's paper hit me hard - it made me think something really, really big, something really, really fundamental could be going to happen. Really? I read it again. Seriously? I started Googling all related key words which are all new to me.

The result - Wow! We are very likely to be witnessing a very moment when everything is going to change. What would you call it? Revolution? Great Disruption? V for Vendetta? Perhaps it will be determined by future historians.  Well, the rest is for my future post.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

[Video: I took this when I was landing on Mogadishu airport in Somalia]



Sort:  

Welcome and don't worry. It's weird at first but after a week or so, you'll probably start getting comfortable with it. Lots of technical stuff under the hood but you don't need to know it all just to use the platform :)

Thank you for your encouragement ! I will steem it on.

welcome!

Thank you!
I realized my video is not showing up. I will have to find a way to upload it properly.

I hope it's now fixed.

Welcome to Steemit! You have a new follower :)

Thank you !

Keep on steeming on. Glad to have you here. I made some tutorials that still seem to be accurate back in September. They may help you. They are older than a month so I am not sharing these with you and getting any personal benefit other than hopefully helping you to be able to maximize your steemit experience and learn a lot of the tricks sooner.

https://steemit.com/steemithelp/@dwinblood/steemit-user-manual-for-new-people-hope-this-helps-sept-3rd-2016

https://steemit.com/steemithelp/@dwinblood/steemit-user-manual-journeyman-s-guide-some-additional-tips-to-posting-and-using-steemit-beyond-the-basics

Best wishes and Steem On!

Welcome to the platform @yoshi3346. By the way, it would be much better if you can post a picture of yourself holding a piece of paper with steemit on it, just what you've seen in most intro post.

Although it is not required but it's an advantage to have it done, especially if you wanted to build a network here in the community.

You can also post a link of any of your social media account.

Thank you for your welcome. I'm a very boring regular person permanently sucked into 9-5 work or 24/7 work. I just enjoy having a look at Steemit from time to time.
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=674825535
Twitter: https://twitter.com/yoshi_NYC?lang=en
LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/yoshiyuki-yamamoto-6305ba13?trk=hp-identity-headline
Instgram: https://www.instagram.com/yoshi3346/?hl=en

Why boring?

Congratulations @yoshi3346! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @yoshi3346! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard knock out by hardfork

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @yoshi3346! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!