INTRODUTION OF MYSELF :)

in #introduceyourdelf7 years ago (edited)

I everybody I'm Marina and this is my first post on steemit! ! I'm from Sicily, I lived in a little and beautiful city Trapani !

panorama_trapani.jpg

A few words to describe Trapani, amazing place rich in history.

So I want dedicated my first post to my city!
maybe some of you have already been in Sicily, Trapani is a city with a high cultural and environmental heritage.

The city is located overlooking the sea, also called "The City of the Two Seas" because a strip of land divide the Tyrrhenian Sea from the Ionian Sea. The ancient name of the city was "Drèpanon", derived from a Greek word meaning "sickle", probably referring to its form , still today the sickle is the symbol of Trapani.

torre-di-ligny-porto-di-trapani-sicilia.jpg

In this photo you can see Ligny Tower one of the most beautiful places in the city, where you can admire very wonderful sunsets.

Trapani is known not only as "The City of the Two Maries" but also as the City of Salt and Sail, as it has expanded over time a thriving economic activity related to salt extraction and trade.

Among the things to see in Trapani is certainly the Old Town, very pretty, where you can enjoy pleasant walks, between shops and ancient palaces, having the chance to rest in some cafes or in typical restaurants, tasting the specialties of this land.

trapani___centro_storico2_by_cyrus83-d50vbkv.jpg

Walking through the streets of the center of Trapani you can see and admire several churches and palaces, such as the Cathedral of San Lorenzo Martyr, built in 1421 and restored in the 18th century.

collegio-dei-gesuiti-1024x768.jpg

Other things to see in Trapani are the salt pans that make up a particular environment, an ideal habitat for many animals and plants so much so that WWF has decided to protect this area by creating a Nature Reserve.
Several mills located in this area, some in disuse, act as museums where to admire the old gears and techniques used to produce salt.

Slider-HOME-1.jpg

Okay guys! today I have talked you about my city, I hope you enjoyed this short article and that if in the future you will come to Sicily will choose Trapani as a destination to visit!
I'm sorry if my english is not perfect :)
now I leave you with the last photo, one of the most beautiful beaches in the city behind the ancient walls.

1435672151-0-trapani-prosegue-la-rimozione-delle-alghe-dalle-spiagge-del-centro-storico.jpg

see you soon bye!!

Sort:  

Hello I'm from tp to it'sbeutiful place