Sort:  

Hi @spectrumecons, those two types are always tricky. I'm doing photography and a bit of videos myself but as some others I think images alone don't add a lot of value to the platform this is why photographs should be accompanied by some description, things such as info about the subject being photographed, the location, what brought you to that location, why that subject etc... Our minimum text length of 170 words is really easy to achieve.

On the video side, some vloggers put a lot of efforts in making their video clip that alone is already value added. For now we have disabled word count checking for videos uploaded to Dlive and Dtube until we find a better way to assess quality on video posts.

Thanks for your detailed response. I can agree about photographs. Adding some text to explain the photography is very valuable.

In regards to videos, the value is in the video itself. Many high quality videos have very minimal text. I am glad that you have disabled word count for these posts. I make quite a few videos myself, I normally add at least a brief description just to give the viewer a rough idea of what to expect (though, I am not sure of my word count).

I generally like what you guys are proposing. I have yet to delegate any Steem Power as I like to have Steem Power available to curate good content when I see it. I also strongly believe the bid-bots are causing a lot of damage by pushing really low quality content onto the 'Trending' page. I do not see your services being abused in that way.

I will think it over for about a day and then decide if I should delegate any SP and how much if I do. I normally only post a few times a week as my posts are generally quite long (several thousand words sometimes).

Even if it is an amazing photograph or a well thought, shot and edited video, there is still a lot of benefit from adding a good description to it:

  1. As you mentioned, it helps the viewer have a rough idea of what to expect, especially potential followers who don't know you yet.
  2. Search Engines can't really analyse the content of an image/video (or maybe they can now, I'm not sure) so in order to bring more organic traffic from outside the Steem ecosystem, your best bet is text content.
  3. I saw some vloggers adding a transcript of their video in the post body and that is absolute gold for me. I spend a lot of my time Steeming from an iPhone in the train and I can't always watch videos, so a transcript allows me to know what's going on without watching, especially when the videos are just vloggers discussing a subject which does not really require you to actually watch.