Introducing myself as a humanist, a dog lover, a volunteer, a future astronomer & pilot and least of all 'the-not-so lonely loner'. Hello steemit :),

Hello Steemit :). My name is Emmanuel Harmony Asman, 26 year old male from Ghana & living in Accra, Ghana. The first time my best buddy @kakradetome told me about steemit, it sounded like something I would read in a sci-fi novel but here I am with a big grin on my face while typing this. He had already introduced me to YouTube videos about crypto currency by Craig Grant to learn about crypto currency & how it could be a solution to my personal financial hardships and miserable life situation at the moment. I am a rookie in crypto currency trading & it has been an amazing experience so far. Let me just say this is unbelievable & I’m still reading more about steem and what this whole crypto world is about.
Image and video hosting by TinyPic

I am a secular humanist because I believe human beings are more important than dogma and traditions. I believe if humans would act out of LOVE & moral ethics and not of ideological extremism of faith, the world will be a better place.
Image and video hosting by TinyPic
This is me and some of my humanist friends from the Humanist Association of Ghana at a freethought meeting.

I'm a dog freak. I just can’t hide my excitement when I see a playful dog. I think dogs are incredible, talented and also loveable. Unfortunately, I lost my pet dog on the last day of the year, December 31sat 20l15. His name was Wick & he was 2 years. I adopted Wick when he was only a month old. He had a striking resemblance to 'Ghost' from ‘Game Of Thrones’ (Yes! I’m a GOT fan). I didn’t know I was so emotionally attached to Wick until he died. I was traumatized & broken-hearted than I was when my previous relationship ended on a bad note. I wished I had enough money to send him to the veterinary earlier. The only veterinary in my vicinity is miles away and the service is very expensive. He died in a taxi on our way to the veterinary after I had finally secured a loan from a friend. A bit too late! :(
Image and video hosting by TinyPic
Wick & myself <3 :'(
Image and video hosting by TinyPic
A cool shot with some security dogs I met while at the beach.

I have been unemployed for a while so I have a lot of free time. I spend my free time as a volunteer at the Ghana planetarium where I teach and explain astronomy to kids on the weekends and other visitors during the weekdays. I have been fascinated about astronomy since I was a kid, I had a thousand questions about the universe which have almost been answered now. I got involved in a free online course on UDEMY named "Astronomy- State Of The Art" hosted by Professor Chris Impey of the University of Arizona, Steward observatory.
I had my primary & high school education at an Airforce base in a city called Takoradi, somewhere in the Western region of Ghana. Classrooms were not the usual school blocks you are used to or would imagine, we had classes inside old hangars. You could hear bursting sounds of jet engines as engineers work on them from a distance. Military airplanes were all around me. Hypnotized over every single take off & landing I observed. I think that was the beginning of my fascination with airplanes and the reason why I have always had a dream of becoming an aerospace engineer and a Pilot. For a fact, my interest in astronomy soared when I read that Pilots sometimes navigate through the sky with the help of their knowledge in astronomy should communication with a control tower fail.
Image and video hosting by TinyPic
Image and video hosting by TinyPic
Image and video hosting by TinyPic
:) Me calibrating the Ghana planetarium's ONLY Newtonian telescope to view the full moon at night.

It hasn't been a smooth life for me. I guess my dreams are too big for a boy that comes from a low income family, a country with systems so flawed that nothing technically works if you’re not corrupt or part of the political elite and being a member of a constantly threatened non-religious minority in a highly religious country. I wake up motivated with the hope to go on and keep working towards my goals because of the very few amazing friends I have even though some live very far away & I don’t always get to see them. I believe Steemit would be a breakthrough to raise funds for my university education and even more for flight school.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic
I feel so super pumped to be on Steemit and I will definitely contribute my very best to this amazing and wonderful community. Much love to you all Steemians! <3

Sort:  

This post was underloved. You're awesome. Glad to have you onboard.

Nice to see another #introduceyourself that spent a good amount of time telling us who you are. Welcome to the house of fun!

Very nice to have you on board @abeekuharmony :)

Dude. You're awesome. This intro deserves way way more upvotes.

Thank you Calva. I've got all the confidence to be myself now.