New user here and I’m frustrated AF.

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

64ED13C2-B947-4EFD-B305-F6635474678F.jpeg

My frustration has nothing to do with making money. I’m not here to generate another revenue stream as I have enough and money has never really been a motivating factor for me. I’m here to be involved in something layered on a blockchain but so far I am not impressed.

Discovery

Discovering new people to follow is difficult. My feed is terrible. It’s full of sub-par content and this goes back to my discovery issues. When you onboard a new user the first thing the user should see is category subscriptions. From this point, the user can find content and users to follow.

I see a lot of users rehashing the same stories. Why doesn't steemit have a link field for the source of the article that cross checks against existing submissions? Hello @ned.

Users with high rankings (50+) rule the trending and hot pages and their content isn't all that great. Some users post so often all I see is their content. Again, their content doesn't seem worthy of these high rankings. Rankings should fluctuate and not just go straight up.

What’s up with all these bots.

Are the bots overrunning the users? I’m cool with some bots and I would like to try one to see how they work, but there’s just too many and it seems like they are either holding the site together or ruining it. How about someone build a bot that tells me if someone replies or mentions me?

Replies without notifications?

When I get replies, I don't see notifications. Why? If I don't check the replies tab nobody is getting a response from me. If someone @mentions me, @alakazam, I am not notified.

Draft mode?

Does seemit.com have a draft mode for postings? If they do, where is it? Sometimes I want to start a post, think a little deeper than restart where I left off.

Is the team subpar or strong?

While I have only been on this platform for a very short while, I’m wondering if the steemit team has the technical chops to build basic features into this platform. It’s not like they don’t have existing platforms to learn from like reddit, hacker news, fb, twitter or open source code to fork. I’ve forked code to make it work how I need it to work so anyone who can read and write code can do this.

Does this site have a voting algorithm for submissions and comments? If so, it needs to be scrapped and rewritten with a new scoring algorithm. It shouldn’t matter how many followers you have. Good content is able to rise to the top without follower model on many sites. This is truly a beta site now is the time to push code rapidly. Experiment, try new things, see what works and be public about it. Failure breeds success.

If people didn’t make money would they be here?

Steemit is just a basic socially structured website layered on-top of a blockchain and there’s really no reason for a newbies experience to be so shitty.

If anyone can provide active discord or telegram channels where I can get some answers please share.

Sort:  

You're not alone. I've seen a lot of garbage on here that gets attention for all the wrong reasons. I'm not going to make excuses for the Steemit team. Technically I think this type of commons is a massive leap in the right direction. However, I thought due to the nature of actually becoming a user and understanding how the platform works and it being difficult, it would filter out a lot of sub-par content. This obviously isn't the case and it is going to take some time to find the right people to follow and create an ecosystem that is conducive to my intellect.

Welcome to Steemit, I'm here to give you a vote on your very first comment! Great job engaging with the community!

There’s clearly no voting algorithm. It’s all weighted by the users rep score. As someone who loves writing code and pushing it out like rapid fire, they have too move faster and not be worried about breaking stuff that currently don’t work very well to begin with. I see why they are doing certain things but they really need to start pushing code changes because I am not finding quality posts or conversations. They need to iterate on the platform and not anything else. Seems like focus is lost with the launch of smart media tokens. Get this right then venture out.

Hello! It's nice to see you here!

Man you honestly raise some compelling arguments. I too am rather annoyed by the tons of bots and scripts around. Look at your first comment, everything could be incentivized by monetary gain. I too hate seeing some garbage content on my feed and there ought to be a better filtering system in place. Hey but if you're in need to learn a little more about steemit through guides follow my mate @steemitguide. Thanks for being honest in the sea of oddities

How do you build a feed. I can’t discover and there’s got to be good content by people with under 50 rank. I do need to read more guides but in order to scale guides should not be needed. This all makes me wonder about the team. Can they iterate so a new user doesn’t bounce?

Recibe una cordial Bienvenida a Steemit, es un placer poder compartir contigo.

Gracias. Tendré que afinar mi español, así que sigue comentando. Necesito algo de práctica

Hello welcome to steemit!! it's really nice to have you here enjoy the platform and explore the community.....wish you all the best.

Welcome. I'm glad to see you. Let's be friends

Oh we can be friends. You follow me and I’ll follow you. Just be sure to keep up with the photos. ;)

@alakazam Welcome to platform dude. Follow the rules. Read the FAQ. learn more for earn more.

regard

@uncleboy

Thanks but I don’t care about earning. Just want to see how things work but doesn’t seem like things work all that well.

Hello, You just received an upvote via the
Steemit Information Browser Bot
Automatically, vote, follow and comment on posts in your favourite tag.

I'm new here too and feeling exactly the same. You have to remember it's the first of its kind and the fact that it's built on blockchain makes changes very hard to roll out. I've decided I'm going to invest a bit of cash in Steem Power and dedicate my account to improving the quality of content on the science channels, wish me luck!

It’s layered on blockchain so this shouldn’t make doing updates difficult unless the team is sub par. This could be the case because they had trouble with on-boarding. How much steem power does one need? I have done but it doesn’t do much. I’d like to know how (25) rank gets noticed? How did you get to (47) I need to find some new channels. At the very least they need a new algorithm for content ratings. It’s really bad.

Yes! This is what I am thinking after spending here some time and even creating something. I love it here, but there are some issues, and some of them are not created by steemit team but by people, I think. That doesn't mean that they could not be fixed, some changes by steemit team could give and incentive to people to do something or stop doing something, I believe.

What do you mean by subpar? What it is?

Can't steemit prevent the bots for operating like disabling keys if they run on keys? I need to learn more about this. Something isn't right. Sub par means below. As in not technically capable of doing great things with the tools provided. Developers are a dime a dozen but quality devs are not.

I can definitely understand and share some of your thoughts. And these bots are a problem on this platform but they won't go away only by complaining about them.
What people need to do is flag those users abusing them but the problem is you need to be powerful yourself to see the effect. I guess it's all just like in real life. Be rich to become even more rich.
But when I compare it with other platforms at least I HAVE the possibility to flag trash and take away at least some of their rewards which is definitely an advantage.
I would like to see built in notifications on steemit as well but if you use Discord GINAbot can help you out with that.
And don't forget that all of this is still beta. I guess there's a lot more to come in the future ;)

How often do they push out new features? As someone who has built follower model social architecture in the past, I know it's not complicated to implement push notifications. This site is bare bones which is fine, but I am wondering if the team has the ability to iterate. I'm not complaining about the bots, just not sure what to make of them as they are either keeping the site together or ruining it. I can't tell but something doesn't feel right.

I‘ve seen some minor updates on the layout since I‘ve been here so there is something happening but not a bigger update yet.
And bots won‘t ruin this platform by themselves. It‘s up to the people and how they decide. There are definitely some disadvantages but in general I have never seen such a great community and to be honest I lost hope a long time ago that something like this would still be possible on the internet nowadays.

So they do design updates on occasion but rarely push new functionality updates? I’m really surprised to see there’s not much of a voting algorithm for content and comments. Id like to see the best content and comments rise to the top regardless of the users numerical (rank). I’d like to hear your thoughts as to why bots can’t ruin things? Not sure how long you have been here but I’d like to know how things were before the bots arrived. Thanks for the response.

Upvote bots don't upvote by themselves but only when people send money to them. That's why it's up to the people if bots will ruin this platform or not.

I understand but why are bots needed? They are juicing post that wouldn't be there otherwise. RIght? Can content not rise to the top without the bots? Does the platform need a downvote (not flag) to remove the subpar content that reaches the top only because their (rank) and followers count. See with reddit or hacker news (follower model) is not important in the grand scheme and this gives new users a chance to get organic upvotes without worrying about the rank to get their postings up while earning karma points. Something just seems off. Thanks for educated me.

Hey buddy welcome to the community and you can find most of your desired features on busy.org , check that out and enjoy your Steemit Journey.😇

What is busy.org? Another UI for the Steemit blockchain? This is really confusing and I’m a technical person. How can new users stick if the learning curve is so steep. Seems like Steemit providing a very thin ‘layer’ to encourage others to build out features or even a better platform. Thank you for referring me to busy.org I will take it for a spin.