Hello Steem!

Hello everyone, I just wanted to write a brief post introducing myself and explain why I'm here :)

I am graduating with an undergrad degree in Information Systems from Salisbury University on May 25th! My programming roots go back years ago to middle school, where I programmed simple Batch scripts. I was hooked. Since then I dove into Assembly, C, Python, and many other languages. I picked up Python 4 years ago, and I really enjoy it! This blog will not only motivate me to push the envelope everyday, but also hopefully inspire other coders to get into programming and find a new favorite hobby.

I will be recording my progress daily, uploading all the code I write to my GitHub and explaining it, my thought process, research methods, problem-solving, and much more on the blog here.

Most of the programs I have written in the past are staying on my own machine and are mostly hacked together. This blog will focus on creating polished code that has a larger scope. I will be creating tools that are suitable for more people than just me and my shenanigans.

The tools I will be creating will all be in Python. To challenge myself, I will only be using the libraries that are included in the initial Python install (no need for any pip installing). This may be looked down upon since I will not be making use of many 3rd party libraries that are written by brilliant pythonistas, but I would like to take both myself and the readers down the rabbit hole so that both you and I really understand what's going on in the code.

With this blog I aim to become a pythonista and turn my audience into pythonistas as well. Then we will be able to not only use other popular libraries in our code, but also contribute to them!

Thank you for reading this and I am very excited to share my Python journey with anyone who wants to read, follow along, critique, and code with me!

I also setup a discord for anyone who wants to hang out, chat, and vent about bugs in our code:
https://discord.gg/Yqz55ux

python_is_awesome.jpeg

Sort:  

Great intro. Welcome to Steemit. Stephen

Hey @alexcodes I always wanted to learn coding, nice introduction welcome to steemit

Hello Alexander, welcome to Steem! :-)

Welcome to Steemit @alexodes Post, vote, comment, follow, resteem and manage those coming rewards well for the future.