My personal kaleidoscope

To start talking about myself, I had to look for an object that would represent (or rather help me tell) my ideas, my world, my city, my loves, my stories, my life ... A kaleidoscope.

81Oy0jju8EL._AC_SX425_.jpg

I have moved from journalism, literature, cinema to university teaching. I think I have been a globetrotter, but very local, perhaps virtual. And the instrument of a globetrotter, better than a camera, is the kaleidoscope that allows you to see several things at the same time. Several worlds at the same time.

WhatsApp Image 2020-09-29 at 8.15.55 AM.jpeg

From high school I jumped to study at the university with the 7-month break. During the day he worked as a pollster for the country's central bank and at night he studied journalism. Two worlds, populated by young people and adults who needed to work and wanted to study. We were a generation that combined the best of studying and working.
At the university we formed a group that had these economic conditions in common. And when the first vacations arrived, we packed our backpacks and went out to visit a country, a world. Travel, eat, love and see (read) life as a great film script written by the indomitable force of youth. Mérida, Punto Fijo, Táchira, Trujillo, Valencia, Caripe, Arapito, Mochima, Cumaná, Margarita ... The national travel newspaper became a journalistic and audiovisual genre. And we sensed something.

WhatsApp Image 2020-09-29 at 8.13.21 AM.jpeg

Walk the streets of the city, talk to its people, portray its places, its animals. Entering their worlds and savoring their desserts was the daily adventure. One day, a story. Another day, a character, a movie, a plate.
While the world could explode and the walls collapse, Cinema Paradiso inspired us to continue. We did not finish learning to write when we already had to change styles. We had the answers and they were already obsolete to new questions.
With the kaleidoscope I see the past and the present. If I want to, I see the things in my biopic as a sequence shot or as a collage of photos from different times. Very vintage.

WhatsApp Image 2020-09-29 at 8.21.21 AM.jpeg

Nostalgia can surface, and they say that when there is nostalgia it is because they left happy. La Bella Beatriz or Betty la bella, my mother, had that gift of evocation of the first postwar decades when she passed her childhood, adolescence and early youth, where country and city, tradition and modernity coexisted in conflicts resolved with a happy ending such as in the Mexican cinema of the golden age.

WhatsApp Image 2020-09-29 at 8.20.05 AM.jpeg

I have been like a tourist and also passionate about pets. Of dogs, especially. But it is something that you are discovering.
They who cannot speak, express everything to you with their gestures, their looks, their fidelity and their eternal childhood. For 5 years we took care of, protected, and fed 5 puppies in the middle of the worst economic crisis that we have suffered! I unknowingly and unwillingly became a protectionist in the world of dogs. According to the Chinese horoscope I was born in the year of the dog, perhaps that astral coincidence would explain such devotion. And it is that there also comes a time when disappointment by human actions makes you think of those other beings who have always been throughout the history of humanity without voice or vote.

Diseño sin título.jpg

Blockchain and the Internet of Things (the IoT) do not escape my peculiar kaleidoscope. A sea of ​​curiosities. If you are not curious, it is better not to have been born at this time in the middle of the fourth industrial revolution of many screens and eyes. We are a great visual network. We are a great network of senses. It is a joy that we can share today in this way. Greetings to the entire Hive community. I will not write, at least not by myself, there will always be my kaleidoscope.

Sort:  

What a beautiful #introduceyourself post! I haven't seen (or even thought about) a kaleidescope in about 50 years!! 🤣 Perspective IS everything!

Welcome to Hive! Hoping your journey is a pleasurable one, and that you find some great connections. We have LOTS of bilingual posts on Hive and so it's quite OK to do English & Spanish in the same post.

Sending you encouragement from Chiang Mai in Northern Thailand - suggest you connect with @acurewa and @josecabrarev - both great Hivers who will help you find your feet.

Suggest you FOLLOW a few people to get connected - start with @nathanmars07, @starstrings01 and @josediccus - all solid community guys who will give you ideas and help get you connected.

Thanks for the mention 😊. !tip

Thank you - and you're welcome. Can you help @alfil1989 get a bit connected and plugged in to community? It would make me happy. I hate to see newbie posts ignored! When they succeed, we ALL grow!

Yeah that's no problem for me. I would definitely try my best to him out. The rest depends on him 🙂🙂

Hello @alfil1989. Welcome to Hive and I am glad to have you here. I run a small project in supporting and guiding newbies on Hive which I love you to be part of.

Kindly contact me on discord: starstrings01#8020