Finally found a supportive community so I'm going to share some recipes.

Thanks heaps to @o07 and @wildflowerjessi for giving me an extra push.

I'm a stay at home mum to 3 beautiful kids.
I love cooking easy, simple, cheap, convenient meals.
The slow cooker is my best friend.

20180130_094515.jpg

I'm a shy person but I'm thinking the people here seem to be really supportive and kind, so I'm choosing to be brave and start blogging.

20180714_194923.jpg

I went to the Adelaide steem meetup last night and won a silver superman coin in the bingo, which is my first piece of silver. Very exciting, thanks again @o07.

Hubby's been trying to drop some kilos, so I've been making a lot of high protein dishes recently, which is hard as I'm not keen on red meat and I love my sauces.
I've just done another seafood laksa in the slow cooker, which is always popular, so I'll go into detail in the next post.

Power on,
Amanda

Sort:  

Welcome Amanda. Great to have you on board. Your husband has recruited 3/4 of Adelaide to be on here glad he convinced you to join as well.
Be sure to check out the various TA chat rooms, we are a pretty supportive bunch we have lots of shy people in there as well. I’m probably the shyest of them all.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you for your support. I'll be sure to check out the chat rooms as I get my head around and learn about this great platform 😊

If you're not too keen on red meat, turkey is an excellent alternative. Tuna's great as well. Our slow cooker is our best friend too.

We've got a friend's stolen recipe on at the moment - instead of chicken, turkey + packet of french onion soup mix + mushrooms, and you can throw in some tumeric.

I felt cheaty today so added chorizo on top as well.

Slow cookers make everything better.

Yes the slow cooker is my best friend, especially during these cold months. Makes things so much easier. I sometimes have 2 on the go, one for that nights tea and the other to make up meals for hubby to take to work for the week. 😁
The 'stolen' recipe sounds yum, I loooove musrooms 😆

As a shy person myself I can tell you there are a lot of wonderful and amazing people on this platform. Lots of good times to be shared and fun to join in. Welcome and have an amazing weekend!

Thank you. Yes I get quite anxious but I've finally made it to my 2nd Adelaide steemit meetup and they are a great bunch of people. They have all said how encouraging and supportive everyone is on here, so I'm looking forward to exploring this new platform 😊

2 public meet ups! I'm still at 0. I'm not even that darning. Sounds like you are already fitting well into a community :)

Welcome to steem...hoping to see some steamed receipes as well..

Thank you very much 😁

Oh Amanda!!!!!! I didn’t see this post!!!!!! So glad to read it and I’m excited to read your cooking ideas!!!!! I love my slow cooker too...and need inspiration. Will definitely be following along xox yay 🤗🤗🤗

I think a high percentage of people on here are shy. It's easier to talk when you can write it down, correct if needed, not have someone looking at you expectantly, take all the time you need to write what you want to say and not have to try and talk at the same time as others. 😊 I rarely get a word in edgewise in real life, but here I can write it and they'll here it when they're ready to read it.

I hope you enjoy posting on here and I'm looking forward to those recipes that Matt raves about.

Welcome Amanda.

I am pretty sure that you have an understanding of what is going on here since no doubt, @mattclarke and the @mallsballers don't stop talking about Steem and 'one day' :D

Looking forward to seeing more from you and if you have any questions you can find me on discord or, turn your head slightly. :P

Haha thank you. Looking forward to exploring this great platform I hear so much about 😁

Welcome, @amandaclarke. Not part of the Adelaide or Australian contingent, but I thought I'd say hi, anyway. Personally, being shy, introverted, or reserved seems to be par for the course here, and the opportunity for all of us who fall into any or all of those categories to express ourselves without having all the people who will read what we've said staring at us while it's happening. :)

Good luck with your endeavors here. Matt and I have conversed a time or two, and he definitely knows how to navigate the waters so no doubt you will find your niche and enjoy your time on STEEM.

Hi Amanda, you should join Team Australia. You've done your intro so I just need a fun fact about you and for you to vote for ausbitbank as witness. Get Matt to help to you. He knows the drill.

Thanks! Ooo 1 fun fact..
Jetty jumping is a great summer tradition in South Aus, however for me at a yr 12 shindig took jetty jumping to a whole new level. Jetty jumped off Port Noarlunga Jetty at night, not into water but plunged straight onto the sand! Ended up in th ER with 10 stitches in my elbow....ugh the things we do for boys when we're young and in love. 😆

Welcome aboard Amanda!
Yeah, we're a fun bunch here.

Tuna is a great source of non red meat protein. But the real key to weightloss is a reduction in calories, not drastic, but moderate and an increase in exercise.
This can be as moderate as a walk around the block and then maybe building up the number of laps each week. And I just have to have sauces and flavour in my food! :D (They often aren't high in calories).

Just being more active can help too. :D

That Superman coin looks awesome. Congrats!

Hi Honey. Glad to see your introduction up, and a profile pic.
If you have any questions you can get me on discord, mattclarke#6202; or just turn your head slightly.

Turn her head?! Gosh you're a tough husband! 😆

I'm sure I'll have a million questions lol
thanks bub 😆😊

🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 that cracks me up, Matt 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 M crying here

I don't own a cell phone or a pager. I just hang around everyone I know, all the time. If someone wants to get a hold of me, they just say 'Mitch,' and I say 'what?' and turn my head slightly.

Mitch Hedberg

Aaah! From the funny guy. Didnt he pass away? I could be wrong.

Yeah heroin.
Guy had his demons.

Welcome!!! Whoever likes sharing recipes, my arms wide open for sure 🤗🤗🤗🤗

Would love a meatless laksa recipe if you have any, btw !

Thank you.
Haha, I'll have to get organised and gather my collection of recipes 😊


Welcome to Steemit @amandaclarke!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings!

Welcome to steemit.
Congratitulation...

Welcome to steemit Amanda!

I do love me a good slow cooker meal, so I'll be looking forward to getting some inspiration. Check out the #fff (@foodfightfriday) tag as well. If it fits your recipe plans, they could make an awesome addition.

Awesome, thank you so much 😊


Welcome to Steem @amandaclarke.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchain works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Thanks for the shoutout! 😜

Hi amandaclarke,
Welcome to #teamaustralia! Please find below your two footer banners made by @bearone for use in your future posts.

TeamAustralia Slim Banner

TeamAustralia Compact Banner

Brought to you by @quochuy (steem witness)

Welcome to Steemit! We love @mattclarke so I think we will love your recipes too! I think you'll enjoy connecting with @momskitchen because @karenmckersie is a great person and you'll also probably be interested in lots of great education content on Steemit for children if Matt hasn't already shared with you :)

Thanks plushzilla :)
You're too kind. I haven't really investigated the culinary side of the chain; so we appreciate the insights.

Well, that's about all I've got actually :D

I do know that if you follow groups like @steemmamas, @steemiteducation that support families and education, and any of the newbie support groups like @welcomewagon, @asapers, @newbiegames, @newbieresteemday then you can't go wrong. The people there are all lovely and will provide contacts to other interest groups :)

are you a Mom of 3? wow!
when women have more than 2 kids, they're heroes for me
so pretty kids!
and it seems to me I saw this angel-girl in your husband's post one time;)
her eyes are unforgettable;)
boys are handsome too though!
I'm a mom of 1 boy for now, and he takes all my time and all my life, so it's hard for me to imagine how it's to have 2 more kids, though I want to feel the miracle of the birth once more;)
it's REAL happiness!
so you've 3 happinesses!;)