Introduction by ameliasarmy...finally!

Hi…I am Amelia…from AmeliasArmy. I guess I am doing this a bit backwards as an introductions should have been made weeks ago, before I started posting on Steemit. I rarely use FB or any other social platforms, so I was a bit trepid.

Why am I here? I want to write about and share things I learn and think about. It's cathartic. I research a lot, read books, magazines, articles on internet, and listen to a lot of interviews from a wide variety of folks…probably too much and every day. I study economics…mostly US as that’s where I live, but I do pay attention to global economics as it’s all tied together now. I also study geo-politics, vaccines, cancer cures, crystals (where did that come from :) ) and a wide variety of anything that hits my interest that day.

I consider myself to be awake. Once you are…you know. When one awakens, you still don’t know a lot…tons actually…but at least now I know that I don’t know a lot and need to re-learn so much. We have been lied to…pretty much about everything. It is shocking and I now understand the cliché “ignorance is bliss” as I was very very blissful prior to this awakening. Sure I watched the TV news and I considered myself fairly well read…but most of all that was propaganda.

It started slowly, before I embraced all the new stuff. I was very doubtful. I hung with a bunch of pals that talked often about world issues and politics and one of the guys kept talking about really “off the wall” stuff…at least I thought that. The thing that made me eventually listen was that he didn’t care a wit if any of us believed him…he was quite confident. An air of truth and real knowledge exuded from him. It started to make me curious. Then, I went to Gettysburg and in one of the museums there was a button from Abraham Lincoln’s campaign that read “WIDE AWAKE” and I honestly felt like that was a message just for me. I know, weird, but I look back and still think that. That was 2012.

So…when I got home I went straight to the library and took out “The Creature from Jekyll Island”, by G. Edward Griffin. I had heard about this book so many times and really figured it would be so boring….so I never tried before. It is a large book…and I even have an accounting background and I was intimidated. Well, let me tell you…if you have read it…you know what I mean…it is AMAZING! It reads like a mystery novel…it’s hard to put down…and every page is so mind-blowing that your jaw drops every time you read. Easy read for those hesitant…there is some financial/accounting stuff that may bog some down…just run through it…doesn’t matter…you will get what you need. I have now read it three times and I’m sure will again. Oh, and it is on CD…so for you commuters...think about it. So that opened up everything for me and got me studying daily! Some days I do wish I was back to that blissful state…but as “they” say you can’t put the toothpaste back into the tube!!!

Writing is a way for me to get the word out…as well as get out some of my frustrations! I know folks are so busy, but so many are scared. It can be scary, but I believe truth and knowledge equals power.

I love taking photos of beautiful things I see…clouds, flowers, trees, animals and more. I love to paint, so I include some of my artwork on my posts and I am learning, so it’s not great, but it is fun! I also love to garden…that really keeps me grounded when the world seems to be going crazy!

So, I hope some of you will join me at my new journey here at Steemit. I listened to Ned Scott, one of the co-founders of Steemit, being interviewed and thought it was a very interesting platform. I have posted a few things already and looked around at other Steemit posts and it’s really a great place! I am happy that I am an early adopter…maybe not that early, but early for me!!! Thanks for being here!...Amelia :)

images .. #1 is a rose of sharon...mine and my photo...#2 is the butternut squash I grew last year! Yay!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit!
I look forward to reading your stuff.

followed and upvoted you! Very thoughful introduction!

Thank you...I really appreciate that comment!

Belated welcome!

Hi @ameliasarmy and 'welcome' to Steemit :D

Better late than never. Good luck to you!

Upvoted and Followed!

Always welcome! :))