You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Quick Thought on Steemit Catfish

in #introduceyourself8 years ago

To think that I was working up my guts to do my own #introduceyourself telling everyone about me and this burst my bubble a bit :)

I agree with @dan's point and I don't:

  • I agree that short term it will stop the catfishes from conning us through fake introductions.
  • I disagree, because stopping to vote for posts in the #introduceyourself or any other tag for that matter is not a healthy, long term solution. Community effort, attitude and action is the appropriate solution aiming for long term results. It's very simple: If we can't clearly tell who they are by the information in the post, we don't vote. They are discouraged and stop posting. Fiction introduction of yourself is a lie because you're not introducing yourself and should not be allowed.

It's just like with bots. If they clearly say they're a bot and have performed x or y action because they are programmed that way, I'm good. If the bot pretends to be human and congratulates me for my awesome post that he didn't even bother to scan...well, I'm not ok and i don't appreciate the illusion, thank you.

@dan: None of what I mentioned above means that I don't respect your opinion, or that I don't respect the unimaginable volume of work and sacrifice you've been through to get this baby (Steemit) born and gift it to the world. For this I will be forever in your debt and forever grateful. Keep up the amazing work!