You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How I fell in love with Australia and how my dreams became part of my lifestyle.

viktor08 - the problem with Australia is those cute and cuddlies will take chunks out of you if they fet frightened, threatened or annoyed. An nobody told me what annoys a possum or a koala.

They look cute when held in photos in a controlled environment, but I would never try picking up a wild koala.

Sort:  

Thanks for the heads up dear
I'll proceed with caution on any encounter and I didn't know there were wild koalas

Oh, yes. We haven't managed to kill off all the wild life, yet. We are working hard on it though with land clearing, habitat destruction, mining, pollution and feral animals and diseases. Damn Koalas live in trees though so are hard to find and hard to get to, so we haven't killed all of them off. Mind you, the chlamydia they have is doing a fair to middling job of knocking their numbers down.

On a more serious note, yeah we still have wild animals. No you do not want to go playing with and petting any of them. Possums bite and scratch, koalas have claws a couple of inches long, and use them well, I have seen a fox gutted by one when it was stupid enough to think the koala on the ground would be easy prey. Kangaroos are down right nasty buggers, I was attacked by one for the loaf of bread I was carrying. Luckily he was not large, but I still have the scars on my arm. Cassowary are the worlds most dangerous bird, emus not far behind. Magpies, swooping season is legendary in Australia.

Respect the animals and you come to no harm, play with them and you could be in for a shock.

Got it bit that's a bit of some surprise there, koala gutting a fox.it would be interesting

Wow, it seems to me you have some interesting experience with wild animals. What you write about , that' s true. People don't expect cute looking animals to be so dangerous. But that' s good, it' s their only protection against us, people.