My Introduction!

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Greetings!
My name is Tim. I've wandered over here from Facebook. I've been an IT professional for a small aerospace company for some 20 years now. Being a so called Techie you would think I'm quite at home here on Steemit. The truth is I'm quite an introvert and lead a pretty private lifestyle. I'm hoping this format will help me be a little more open with my life.

Let me explain…

I, like a lot of other people have a facebook account. Some have accounts in other of the many social networks. Not I. I had a Twitter account at one time but quickly deleted it. The reason for deleting that account is similar to why I'm considering the deletion of my facebook account.

I found that twitter was anything BUT a social network. I think I know antisocial when I see it and anything that allows you to post one liners (statements) is not being social. It just seems anti-social to me. There is very little conversation involved.

Facebook is a little better. Post something (anything) and that spurs a conversation. I can't quite put my finger on it, which is why I have yet to delete my account, but I see a bit of nastiness that comes out of people. Including myself! It's an ugly feeling and I do whatever I can do to make my visits more enjoyable. But I don't feel I'm going to stick around there.

Before I get to how I ended up here on Steemit let me take a sidebar.

I'm about 10 years out of the age I would like to retire. I've been lucky enough to have had a few careers, with constant work through my life. My concern is, as is most retiree's, how will I make it? I have a bit of a nest egg but nowhere near what I would need for my wife and I to survive in our final chapters.

So lately I've been looking at some possible opportunities for additional income that I can start nurturing. One such opportunity is freelance writing. Now remember, I'm a big introvert and writing is so far out of my comfort zone that I've become quite intrigued with the idea. Even more so is writing anything about myself! The problem is getting started and exactly how to get started.

This brings me to Steemit…

I happened on to Steemit by following someone from facebook. This came at a perfect time as I think this might be a great conduit for me to start writing. Although I'm not interested so much in any stream of money that Steemit could offer right now, I'm more interested in what I hope will be honest feedback to help me nurture and work out issues I have with writing. Especially about myself! Don't get me wrong though, the possibility of getting something, anything for what I write helps the motivation! At some point I hope to be able to move into the freelance market.

Or, not! ;-)

PS - It is quite apparent that I have to brush up on my Markdown skills ;-)

Sort:  

Welcome! I will follow you so I can see what you have. And I will bet your skills far surpass mine on Markdown. I am pretty new here myself and I agree, there are a lot more positive posts on here than negative. And the possibility of getting some money never hurts. Good luck and I cannot wait to see what you write as I am an avid reader.

Thank you! LOL, back when I did any html it was called "Markup". I'll have to read up on what the difference is if any. Probably not enough that would make any difference to get my writings across. Thanks again and I'll be looking for some honest feedback!

Welcome and I think that many of us techie people are using steemit to come out of our shells.