Get To Know Me

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

My dearest readers, it is my pleasure and a great honor to be able to introduce myself to this community. I am an 18 year old guy coming from a small country called Slovenia.

I was the firstborn child in a pretty regular family. My father owns a small company and my mother also works there. Naturally, I should be able to take over the company when the time comes, but as my relationship with my father struggles, the likelihood of it is approaching absolute zero.

As a kid, I used to appear very promising, showing an abundance of potential when doing various things. One of my greatest interests were sports, basketball in particular. In the beginning, sky was the limit for me.

Then all of a sudden I had an incident. My appendix just exploded, if i may say so, and the event resulted in me having to rest for about half a year. It was very unfortunate, but at the time, I had the proper mentality to get back to work as soon as I possibly could. So I ended up playing basketball again 6 months later, and went on to achieve 3rd place in the national championship twice and win multiple international tournaments with my team.

Later though, in high school, my relationship with my parents started to struggle. I do take part of the blame for it, I don't want to seem as if I am blaming my parents for my failures. But the truth is, it was the breaking point of my life. I lost the support of my parents and so I lost a huge chunk of my motivation fueling me. At the time, I didn't have many friends or any people I could rely on, actually.

That was it for my sports career, it all went downhill from there. I spent about a year of high school feeling sorry for myself and complaining about what a wasted talent I am. When I finally decided to take matters into my own hands, various injuries came my way to stop me from becoming a professional athlete. I guess it wasn't meant to be.

Then one day, I realized where my life was going and I wasn't satisfied with projections of my future. And so I began to seek opportunities to make money such as part time jobs or investments. I spent another year simply educating myself about various subjects and topics in the spare time I had. And it was all it took to get my life back on track.

Today, I feel a lot better about myself. Currently I am working on a business plan, studying hard and I also work a part time job, saving for a car. All that I feel is missing right now is being a part of a community, and I hope I came across the right one.

In future, I intend to write about technology, sports and news mostly, although I might get sidetracked from time to time and publish stories related to a completely different topic. Hope I wasn't bugging you guys too much, and stay awesome :)

Sort:  

hello .
welcome to steemit family.
keep sharing your story with us :)
cheers..!!!

Welcome to steemit!

Welcome to Steemit. Thanks for sharing.