Hello Steemit! My name is Dave and I spend a lot of time traveling the world on a budget

Hello and welcome to my blog. I had heard about STEEM, and being a frequent traveler decided that this could be a great platform to post travel information, photos, and tips on places that could be easily overlooked.   

I'm feeling very happy after reaching Machu Picchu.


San Pedro Market in Cusco Peru

 But let me tell you something about my traveling style. I travel on a budget and do very few tourist things, preferring to immerse myself into the local culture, enjoying the local street food and entertainment. I eat exceptionally well, stay in shared rooms at hostels, and do frequent the occasional exceptional eatery or nightclub. I am presently traveling in South and Central America, and have been loosely following some friends, so my trip has not been as linear as I would have liked. I arrived in Cusco Peru, then was in Lima Peru, then flew with friends to Cancun Mexico. We didn't stay in Cancun but went an hour south to Playa del Carmen, which is famous for its nightclubs. From there we went another hour south to Tulum which has some of the most beautiful beaches on the Caribbean.   

Enjoying a Margarita at Playa del Carmen.

A great character I met when going around the Isle of Cozumel by scooter,

My friends and I travel loosely, meaning we might go off on our own adventures for awhile and maybe meet up in a week or so. In this case we split up and went different directions. One girl went to Oaxaca Mexico, then on to visit her family in Santiago Chile. The other girl went to Mexico City to visit her family. I stayed in Cozumel for a week, enjoying the more relaxed lifestyle, then headed to Mexico City to meet up with my one friend. 

The Teotihuacan Pyramids about an hour south of Mexico City.

Presently I am traveling in Colombia, in in the port city of Cartegena, but in one day will be taking a bus along the coast. 

There is so much great art that makes the Cartegena, Colombia streets very interesting.

The architecture in Cartegena, Colombia is beautiful. 


I hope that you enjoy my blogs and that it will allow you insights into other cultures, and should you be adventurous, maybe you will decide to go to some of there or other destinations. Travel has changed me, my outlook, my attitude, and it has all been positive. I hope that some of my experiences will open your mind or at a minimum entertain you. 


Thank you so much for taking the time to read my introduction.   
 
 

Sort:  

It's really fascinating how Steemit is attracting so many world travelers. I have nothing but the greatest of admiration for you all. :)

Once I found out about Steemit, and read the many stories here, I was hooked and I have to try this platform.

Thank you very much for the Steemit tips

Thank you for the warm welcome

I really appreciate the welcomes from the Steemit community.