Minnow of the week - bringing sport to Steemit

"The man who has no imagination has no wings"
-Muhhamad Ali

I've joined this amazing platform just a bit over 5 months ago. I was introduced to it by my good friend @shakazula. Started with full steam, I wanted to share my fitness experience to help the ordinary Joe get into shape(still do). Did a series of posts about intermittent fasting and how the human body responds to food in general. You can read more about it here:

Also, I've hit a jackpot with my cycling trip report to river Soča, which also qualifies as my most successful post - https://steemit.com/travel/@backyardgoonie/my-cycling-trip-to-river-soca

But then life got in my way and I got pretty inactive for a couple of months. Not that I couldn't find the time to make a post or two, but I was working hard day and night and I didn't really have any quality material to blog about. Now I've made a firm decision not to ever leave this awesome community again.

I was surfing around the platform the other day, looking for all the different contests and challenges that people host. I wanted to participate in as many as I could, only to find out that I don't really have the required skill set for most of them. I'm not much of an artist, nor much of a photographer, so I've looked for challenges in my circle of competence, which is sport. Once again, I was disappointed to find out that there are NO true sport challenges around. The sport betting contests don't really qualify as sport challenges in my book.

So I've decided to make my own. I present you the #steemitathlete channel and it's first sport contests, #mountaingoat and #hotwheels. The idea is to create even more sport contests with the #steemitathlete tag and encourage everyone to start doing some kind of sports themselves. I've also posted my first tutorial with the #steemitathlete tag and I'm about to make more.

The feedback wasn't really the best, but hey, we all gotta start somewhere. Maybe next week, maybe the week after that. I'll keep hosting these challenges in good hope that eventually people with get more engaged with sports. Most of them just need a little push to start exercising. Well, here's a push for you all - I'm rewarding those that participate in my challenges. It's not much, but it's as much as I can afford.

Anyways, my goal is to show everyone the beauty of exercising and how it can change our lives for the better.

I've really enjoyed reading the last weeks winners blogs, congratulations to all of them, keep striking the iron while it's hot! Here's the picture required for the contest:

Win or loose, consistency is the key. The biggest failure is not even trying. People need to get moving to keep themselves healthy. And health is the greatest virtue one can possess.

Thanks for reading it through, special thanks to @runicar for hosting this contest, and best of luck to all the participants!

Sort:  

😊welcome!follow me, good

Very good idea !! I fully support you :) Good luck.

Thanks! You're welcome to join the contests, they're already up and running!

welcome, I find your information interesting, I would like to invite you to visit my blog and support me with your vote, I am your follower, success.

Welcome backyardgoonie, hope you will have a great time here on steemit!