Interesting People: A steemit publishing experiment

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hello, steemit community!

I want to post a quick  hello and introduce myself before I get going posting some content.

So just who is this badastroza guy, anyway?

I was a freelance writer for around 15 years, with much of my latter part of my journalism career focused on the PC and console gaming world. I then spent a few years employed by a videogames company until an international relocation earlier this year saw that awesome chapter draw to a close.

I've been interested in blockchain technologies and the crypto space for the last few months, but given my background in writing and publishing, it was steemit in particular that caught my attention. I really think this is a fantastic platform with -  from what I can tell from a few weeks' worth of lurking - a warm, intelligent and engaged community, and I'm eager to become a part of it.

And here's my verification pic:

What I'm planning

I have been fortunate enough to work with and interview some great people in the game dev industry, both contemporary and retro. With many of these awesome contacts still active I've been able to secure a number of interviews I will be publishing on steemit. These will take the form of written interviews, streamable/downloadable podcasts so that you can listen on the go, and when possible, video interviews too.

My goal is to bring you guys as many interesting people as I can (hence the title of the project!), starting off in the games industry but most likely spreading beyond this as time goes on.

I'm kicking things off with a two-parter with Chris Avellone, who should be a familiar name to anyone who has played some of the bigger hit western role-playing games of the last twenty years. He's worked on the likes of Fallout 2, Planescape: Torment, Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic II, and Pillars of Eternity, among many others. In the first part, we discuss his most recent project: Pathfinder: Kingmaker. At the time of writing, the game's Kickstarter still has 8 days to go but has already smashed the funding goal - a common theme among Kickstarter projects Chris has been involved with. In the second part, we take a much deeper dive into Chris' career. It's going to be a long read, but I hope you'll enjoy it.

I have a few more interviews already completed that are either in the transcribing phase (some of them run into thousands of words!) or are ready for an audio cleanup before I upload them as podcasts ready to stream. Other names you can expect in the lineup include Robyn Miller, creator of the epic adventure game Myst; Tim Donley, a long-time videogame artist who lead development on Darksiders I & II and for the last few years has been working on indie shooter Boss 101. Next is Joel Manners, who was Lead Designer on the Elite-inspired Wing Commander: Privateer, and more recently worked on Need for Speed, the EverQuest series, and Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out of the Shadows.

So that's the intro - looking forward to seeing where this crazy journey leads!

Read Interesting People #1: Chris Avellone on Pathfinder: Kingmaker

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit of you! Glad to have you on Steemit. Continue doing good post.
I wish you the best! and hope to see you soon.

Thanks very much! Good to be here!

Welcome to Steem friend. Let's build this community! I left an upvote for you! Would be happy if you follow me for the latest tech news etc.

BTW and if you need help, you can always get back to me!

Yep, looking through your stuff. Thanks for the comment, and appreciate the offer!

Hey @badastroza

UPVOTED. I recently commented on your newest post, but wanted to go wayyy back and read your intro.

I'm happy that you're getting success on Steemit - it will only continue for writers like yourself who take the time to give readers something of quality and value that we can benefit from. I love reading about the history of game development - even though I'm just a casual gamer that's still kicking about with a 2DS (I haven't taken the Switch plunge yet, and the last dedicated gaming console I've owned was a PS2 (not counting purchasing a used PS1 to relive some Crash Bandicoot with my partner lol).

Keep up the great writing!

Nick

Awesome! Thanks for the encouraging words - it's really appreciated it.

I have a huge soft spot for retro game dev stories. Many of these games/companies/people's work featured huge for me as I was growing up, and it's really awesome to go back to those times and discuss these classics with their creators.

Part nostalgia, part nerd-satisfaction, part pure interest, and hey - being able to publish it here acting as both writer, editor and publisher and able to reap some financial rewards? Well, it's all pretty positive if you ask me.

Thanks for the great comment!

No probs, man.

I totally agree - it's a brilliant forum to discuss all things anyone could possibly conceive. Retro gaming is immensely popular and having interviews with dudes directly involved at the production level is unreal.

Being paid on here is great - I'm slightly confused with my ebs and floes of success on Steemit with articles that I've been publishing. Some of my work (that I don't think is my greatest) has been well received, while the short stories that I'v been putting out haven't quite got the traction I was hoping for.

Either way, my work's getting more exposure here than sitting on my harddrive or posted at my (now dormant) website.

Thanks again,
Nick

We share a history - I used to do video game journalism for a long time! You'll find a good home here, quality, in depth content on games is rare, or often (in my opinion) poorly written.

I look forward to seeing what you produce!

Thanks very much! Hopefully I can deliver on the plan. I have had some great support from the people I've spoken to about this project, so let's hope you enjoy reading/listening as much as I enjoyed talking to them!

Welcome to Steemit @badastroza!
I'm a bot-helper, and I'm created to help. Congratulations on the registration on Steem - you really like it here! If you like me, make an upvote of my comment and follow me. Your upvote will allow you to give more money to new users, such as you. Let's make Steem better together!
I follow you, and to get more upvote and resteem - follow me!
All the money I earn will be donated to charity.
Steem on!

Welcome to Steem @badastroza I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Hi @badastroza I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community ! Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @mekong

Thanks mekong - great to be here and feels good to be publishing some stuff again.
I've looked at your profile... How did you get hundreds of followers but so far nothing in your blog history? You're only posting comments?

That's something I find very interesting about Steemit - how users and can generate income just by engaging and contributing to discussions even if they're not creating original content themselves. A great feature.

Welcome to Steemit! I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community :)

Thanks! Definitely liking the community so far - friendly and helpful people. Such a good range of content too.

Welcome to Steemit, @badastroza!

Hope you enjoy being here!

This message was written by my introduceyourself bot, but I'm a real user :)

Shall you have any questions, feel free to reply to me. I'll gladly answer your questions :)

You can also go to https://steemit.chat and chat with the Steemit Community over there!

Welcome and good luck for future :)

I wish you'll make as good quality posts as this introduction.

Thanks very much! My first interview will be going live hopefully within the hour (as soon as I'm done with the markup!)...

Welcome to steemit buddy :) I hope you will enjoy this platform I have upvoted your post and followed you Expecting the same from you ;)

Thanks a lot - good to be here! I will look through your posts.

Hi there! I'm Vikky and I'm a new steemer too! Let's be friends!

I'm not flooding here, just sharing funny stories with pictures about my golden retriever puppy Mr. Oliver. Follow me back and vote for my posts if you're interested! Thanks a lot :3

Awesome, and hello to you too - thanks for leaving a comment. :)

Welcome to family :) Follow me back and I will surprise you on August 1 ;)

Sweet ! Welcome to Steemit! Followed. Follow me back 😘

Thanks, good to be here - I'll watch your content!

Welcome and Thank You for being with us!! Following your Blog now

Good to hear, appreciate it. :)

A very warm welcome to steemit community.

We are obliged to get such a talented experienced person like you. Your writing skill is awesome and will definitely interest the readers.

Waiting for more awesome articles about interesting people from you. :)

Thanks again for the kind words!

Sad I missed this! Found you from here.

My upvote ain't worth nothing now, but not too late to follow tho!

Thanks for following! If you like what I'm doing, you can always upvote my Planescape: Torment piece I published a few hours ago to help get a little more exposure while I'm starting out. :)

Great stuff! I feel so behind just finding this now, so much to read! My job takes me into the gaming and cryptosphere. Following. Might have to plant a tree for your post keep our friendly competition going!