Dwarf? Goth? Rennaissance man? Or just a hobo in a house? You decide!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Imgur

Hi there!


I'm Baron Von Scrub, but you can just call me Baron. I am the quintessential blend of lazy, unemployed bum and rennaissance man, and if you like *insert something you like here*, then perhaps I can interest you with my thoughts on that wonderful topic. :)

But seriously, here's a bit more about me. I'm an IT student living in South Australia. My interests are gaming, programming, writing fiction and cooking, among other things, and I'm hoping to migrate the majority of my social media/online presence to (Or at least centralise them around) Steemit, to see if I can't make a little something of myself. Physically, imagine if a fantasy dwarf turned goth, and you've got a fair idea of what I look like.

Putting some thought into what I'm likely to post about, I came up with the following, in no particular order:

Book

Writing

Fantasy! A long term project of mine that I'm looking to dedicate some more time to is "Nix Mortem", a fantasy story of my own making, featuring love, loss, magic, swordplay and ZOMBIES - who would much rather dance with you than anything else.

Clover

Clover

My parrot! A young green Quaker parrot (Monk Parakeet), I got clover just yesterday, so what better time to start documenting my life with the little guy as we befriend each other and move forward in life! Hopefully you'll start to like him as much as I already do.

SteemIt

SteemIt

Let's get meta in here! Posts about posting, blogs about blogging, created content about content creation, and spreadsheets about spreadsheeting; I'm gonna step you through my journey into Steemit and beyond into other cryptocurrencies! Don't worry if you're new to it all, so am I; we'll learn together!

GameMaker

Programming

Few things are as enjoyable to me as building a game/piece of software from scratch, and here I'll step you through some of my projects and learning experiences. I'm a little out of touch with the programming community for the most part, something I'm looking to rectify both here and through my schooling, but I'm most confidence in GML. GML, literally "Game Maker Language" is an obscure and supposedly weak language with many limitations; limitations I love to find exploits to combat and ways around. Whilst it would perhaps be easier to do certain things with other languages, the challenge of trying to do it with the nostalgic language I learned on has a certain appeal to me.

Emotions

Emotions with Disability/Mental Health

Real talk; Sometimes life just sucks. I'm an asexual introvert with Asperger's syndrome, Aphantasia (Google it) and depression, and some things - feelings, experiences, memories - I find difficult to deal with in the regular ways. Example: I'm currently dealing with the end of an abusive relationship, and yet all I feel is further love for my "supposedly" heartless ex. How will I get by? Find out next episode on Dragon Ball Z! (Yes, I'm a weeb too.)

Dutch

Dutch

For a goodly portion of my life, many of my closest friends have been from the Netherlands. Why, exactly? Not a clue. But all the same, I love the Netherlands and Dutch culture, and with the intention of one day moving there, I'm going to document my thoughts and progress in learning the language - something at which "ik ben nog niet zo goed", but will hopefully improve on with the motivation/accountability Steemit may provide.

Food

Cooking

FOOD. I love food. I love flavours, and spices, and exotic cuisine, but most of all, my food is comfort food; hearty, rustic and flavoursome, my food is based around maxing out those serotonin levels in your head to send you to sleep with a full stomach and smile on your face. My best dishes are Hungarian/Croatian dishes passed down from my grandfather, but I've also had some experience in cooking French-inspired and Indian foods. These and more will be cooked alongside me, and if you love savoury food that makes you feel all fuzzy inside, keep an eye out for these posts!

Science

Science

Little known fact: I studied Nanotechnology at university for 2 years before transferring. One great thing about Nanotech is that its study really encompasses all the physical and life sciences, giving a very broad-yet-deep knowledge of the vast majority of scientific and technological advances. Whilst I'm no expert, having transferred to IT due to travel limitations, I have had the mindset of a scientist since I was but a wee lad, and I get very passionate about these things. Woo-mongers and anti-vaxxers, beware; I'm coming for you!

Gaming

Gaming

Video games! Primarily League of Legends (Diamond tier), but with a number of smaller things on the side, I love myself some videos games and (Bandwidth-willing) will hopefully often be found over at my Twitch stream by the same name as here. Twitch
I also make some shitposty, memey montages, ironically cringe videos and other whatnot which end up on my Youtube channel. YouTube

Gym

Gym

I wanna get back to the gym, and document my "gains" like a right douchebag, in the hopes I can improve both my health and appearance. I'll likely use this in combination with an Instagram account to do this, and would love to further engage with the fitness community to keep my motivation levels high.

Thinking

On My Mind

Be it developments in my own life, general philosophy, or the bullshit going on in Australian, American or Dutch politics (Fuck Turnbull, Hanson, Trump, Pence, Moore and Wilders), sometimes we all just need to speak our minds. I'm very much open to debates and discussions about things, provided you're going to be both civil and scientific in the way you issue your points.

Shrug

Miscellaneous

Stuff that doesn't belong anywhere else. What more can I say?


So, if one or more of those things appealed to you, perhaps you'd like to give me a follow, even hit me up with a comment or message. I'd love to meet some new people and build a community here, and educate and entertain you all with my future posts.

Be excellent to each other, and party on dudes!

Sort:  

Hi, Baron, and Welcome to Steemit.

I trust you'll find this platform quite open to posts in many of your interests. As for your self-proclaimed "shitposts," it's probably a good idea to leave them on YouTube or other platforms. While there are a plethora of such shitposts on Steemit too, they are generally ignored, and earn only peanuts worth of Steem.

As for being introverted, that's hardly an issue here. I too am pretty much an introvert, such that I abandoned my F_c_Book account after being on it only a short time. Steemit is something quite different, offering a platform where you can upload your creative work and which is quite unlike the hyper-interactive networks of F___Book and the like.

Below are a few basic points of advice re posting on Steemit.

  1. Longer posts are more lucrative than short posts. If you make a post of 20–30 paragraphs, it's more likely to earn rewards.
  2. Include some photos, images or graphs, to complement the text.
  3. Make sure the text and photos are formatted properly, so that your post looks attractive and appealing.

Hope this helps for now. Good luck, and Full Steem Ahead!

Congratulations @baronvonscrub! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hey man, sounds like you have alot of interested and passions. I don't think your much of a lazy bum at all. Welcome to stemit. Check out the #teamaustralia tag/community and reach out to @choogirl she does the recruiting. Otherwise I am running a fitness contests here on steemit as well if you wan to get involved, otherwise there are alot of superfit dudes hanging around too.

Look at you, finding and greeting Aussies.
Top effort :)

Welcome to the club buddy :3
and thank you for introducing me to this site

Are you a South Aussie too, mate?

Congratulations @baronvonscrub! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Nice to meet you @baronvonscrub
Welcome to the community
Grow your followers by posting your valuable content #futurewhales
Upvote for a upvote
Resteem for a resteem
Follow for a follow

Nice to know you ,welcome to Steem it