You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hello, Steemit! Pleased to meet you!

Warning, if you like to read, double warning if you like reading fiction, do not click on my banner post, it may be dangerous to you. It was very easy to start reading stories on here, and I like to read.

Okay you are new, @michelle.gent is a great writer and I love her work. A couple of tools you will need:

  1. Steemworld.org this lets you see the hidden or mostly hidden data behind steemit. It also allows a method of being notified whenever anyone types your @ name in a post or comment, very handy thing to have by the way. here is where your page is - https://steemworld.org/@scottcharlton - it is a very easy to use page, but if you have any questions I can help or you can ask @steemchiller on one of his post, he is the creator of it, and is very approachable.

  2. The second thing you need to look into is @dustsweeper, I strongly recommend that you visit and review their post, it will help you get rewarded, and in the future help your audience get rewarded also. If after reading about @dustsweeper, if you have questions I can try to answer those also.

If you are curious about the banner post, that is the link you can put under your name on the top banner, in the settings tab. I have a table with about 30 Authors or so on my post in a table. Some still active, some not so active, but I read and enjoyed at least one story from all of them.

I look forward to looking over you page and post, since I do enjoy reading, fair warning though, I do comment on stories. A lot. Not as long as this generally just short comments.

Sort:  

Um, banner post? I don't know what that is.

In the settings tab, just after the wallet tab, there is a place to put a website URL. When you name banner shows that web address will be shown between the location and your joined on date, many people refer to it as the banner address. Some that have an off steemit website use that web site. A few authors direct link to their Amazon site, or other book site.

Okay, maybe I'm being thick here, but I still do not understand what that has to do with your banner post and your fiction, or even where your banner post is and how to access it. I've never used anything like this and this whole system seems quite abstract, at least to me it does. I don't have a site to list.

Not being dense at all, just a new system and different terms that get used. here is a picture that explains it:

banner explain 2.jpg

The red box contains the link, some call it a banner post, some a master post, some just refer to it as their home link, or some other name. I use it for stuff I need and that does not change a lot, or that I lose a lot. Kind of my online kitchen junk drawer.