Emerge from the cold, defrosted by the steem

Hello steemit community,

I am always at a loss for words when I have to describe myself. First and foremost a long time lurker and first time poster with the new year I'm trying to be a more social me. I followed the fantastic ups and downs for the cryptocurrency world and only lately I've been trying to assist in the greater integration of blockchains IRL. I see steemit as the perfect intersection of a great community to be a part of, helping the greater integration of blockchains and finally maybe a little cash on the side if i provide decent content.

As for who I am via background, hmmm that's a bit complicated. I'm a aerospace contract designer, photographer, international trade compliance officer (sounds fancy but just a bureaucrat), permaculturalist/conversationalist, crypto-advocate, marijuana legalization activist(former president of NORML CCSU), love to travel, foodie, support local ag (kind of hard in CT during winter), husband of 5 yrs with a fantastic Jamaican wife and a little sour patch kid of a cockapoo to keep us busy. I simply love digging down a engrossing myself into a subject and the internet has become just a never ending faucet of endless interests i didn't even know i would be intrigued about. Yet all of this I feel I can only go so far since i have tremendous social anxiety quite frankly i'm tired of it and hopefully me maintaining a blog here can help me overcome it.
Riverside in CT.jpg
Take for example my latest venture of energy efficiency. Which was stumbled upon by doing a deep dive into bio-remediation (the process of using nature to render inert toxic chemicals and heavy metals) with John Todd's Eco-machine being integrated into one of the first living buildings with the OMEGA institute next door in Rhinebeck, NY which produces all the building needs from electricity, to water, to a healthy living environment for the students. Yet with it being a living building it produces excess clean water and energy where it can sell the excess energy back to the grid and recharge the rapidly depleting local aquifer. All of this because the building has utilized biomimicry to lower the inputs which surpassed a 99.9% of the buildings on the earth in efficiency creating a model for future buildings to follow.
images.duckduckgo.com.jpg
All of my interests revolve around establishing a greater equity with nature and after years of looking its complicated but I have so much hope with all the fantastic people working at improving the world. Improvement in equity will likely take on a multifaceted approach with revisions in everything we have grown used to in the age of growth with the petrol-economy. My hope in chatting here at steemit is to counter doom and gloom of global warming into a viable design based approach which hopefully leads to a even better lifestyle then what we currently have.

Sort:  

hello and welcome to steemit community. this is a great platform.
if you like, you can visit my blog and we can be in touch.. #follow :)

Looks to be an interesting start for your blog as well. Would love to hear about more of the beauty that Croatia has to offer. Looks like its a hidden gem in Europe.