Hello From Portugal

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

Hello, my name is Simon Rodrigues. I'm 32 years old.

I'm Portuguese but spent about 15 years in South Africa and recently returned back to Portugal due to some health complications that were not being dealt with properly.

I'm a self taught programmer. I first got interested in programming when I was about 9 or 10 years old. I started learning QBasic and quickly moved on to Visual Basic and then C++. Since then I've dabbled in all sorts of languages and technologies from Python to Unity.

I've been working for a web development company in South Africa for the past 9 years. I'm currently working mostly with Coldfusion and jQuery.

I've also made and published a game for android called Infinite Jumper.

I've just joined the steem community and I hope to be a positive addition.

Sort:  

Sexa benvido ó Steemit.
Se vç etiqueta súas publicacións como #galego ou #portugues axudará a crear comunidade na lingoa da lusofonía.
Saúde e boa viaxe !! ;-)

Hello my friend, I wanted to take a minute and welcome you to Steemit.

I blog mostly about crypto and related things but lately have branched out into some more personal things.

If you need help there are resources here to help you, for ex. some of the things I have put up to help new people you can find and go down the rabbit hole by typing in

#Steemit101

--
Have a good day!!

Hi Simon, I see a there is a fair amount of saffers/ ex-saffers on steem. What do you miss of SA now you live in Portugal? My wife and I currently live out side Cape Town, but we have given some thought to eventually living in Portugal. Have generally heard good things plus affordable for us Saffers.

Hi. I was basically forced to leave SA. I suffer from chronic kidney failure and due to a mix up with my permit application, I was forced to return to my home country of Portugal. I was waiting for 4 years for them to process my application and during that time I was not able to enter the waiting list for a kidney transplant.

My wife is South African and because she has a business there, it didn't make sense for us to uproot our life entirely with no plan for the future, so she is still in SA along with my 11 year old daughter. All that to say, the thing I miss the most about SA is my family. South Africa is a very beautiful country with a lot of wonderful people. I would not have left if I hadn't been forced to.

Portugal is also a great place to live, especially if you are earning an income elsewhere. The cost of living is still very cheap. I tried to find work when I first got here and I found that to be a bit hard, I eventually settled for doing remote work for the company in South Africa that I had been working for.

I know of a few people that have married South Africans and the BS they have to through to become citizens is a joke. And of course, you need the proper permits to even open a bank account. Hope everything works out - must be tough at them moment. Thank goodness for Skype!

Welcome to the Steemian family brotha! I follow you, follow me back ;)
Goodluck!

Welcome aboard, Simon! Follow me at https://steemit.com/@bitgeek

Congratulations @bigbap! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Welcome Simon :-) Nice to have you onboard - Follow me and I will follow you ;-)

Welcome to Steemit Simon! I hope you will enjoy it as much as I do :-)

Congratulations @bigbap! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!