Lightning strikes twice: I found bitcoin when it was 6 cents, now Steemit!

I was introduced to bitcoin through an investment newsletter I used to subscribe to in September 2010. The description of this ground-breaking invention was so amazing to me I read the article again. The next day I was on bitcointalk and it wasn't long until I sent Mt. Gox some money to buy bitcoins. The price was 6 cents.

I wish I had bought more. LOTS more. And I wish I'd hung on to it all until today.

Since then bitcoin and other crypto has been a large part of my day-to-day life. Auroracoin is my other crypto passion because I think the airdrop was a genius way to bring critical mass to a confined geographic space. It still remains to be seen whether Auroracoin will succeed, but there is now a good development team in place and a lot of progress has been made this year. Some of the infrastructure I've helped bring to Auroracoin:
-Chrome wallet
-twitter tipbot
-Q&A site with Auroracoin bounties
-Localbitcoins-style market

None of these are really in use at the moment, but my aim is to have them primed and ready if Auroracoin finally takes off.

But now I'm sort of distracted. Actually REALLY distracted - by Steemit! After 7 years bitcoin still hasn't found its killer app. Two months after launch Steemit is already bringing in masses of people with no prior cryptocurrency exposure. If the team behind Steemit can close the loop and give us places to spend our Steemit they'll really be heroes.

We are living in amazing times. The pace of change would have been mind-scrambling to our great-grandparents. Twenty years ago almost none of us were on the internet. Fifteen years ago there was no YouTube, Facebook, LinkedIn or Twitter. Even five years ago social media was still in its toddler phase. Three months ago few people were making money blogging. Today, thanks to Steemit, anyone with an internet connection and a story to tell can brighten their financial situation.

We are blessed and should be thankful for the situation we find ourselves in. I know I'm grateful I've been struck by lightning twice: once by bitcoin in 2010, and now by Steemit in 2016.

Thanks Steem Teem!

-bimmerhead