Let's get the introduction out of the way :) I'm Bryan and I love poptarts, travelling, cryptocurrencies and fitness.

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

1554440_10154061978870611_2404941043312720421_n.jpg

Hello fellow steemians, I'm excited to finally post my introduction after a couple of months of procrastination and deliberating about what exactly am I going to post about. Ever feel like there are so many topics you could post about but then you get trapped by the sheer immensity of it all?

Well thanks to @niancakes, my lovely girlfiend (or gohfriend), posting her introductory post before I did, I now feel obligated to do the same.

Where to begin?

About four months ago, I decided to dive right into the world of cryptocurrencies and everything that comes with it (including learning important terms such as HODL/MOON/LAMBO/FUD). Then I came across steemit and fell in love with the idea of blogging again. I used to blog a lot but, as you soon will learn more about me, I have taken quite a strange journey in my life to where I am right now.

I'm from Edmonton, Alberta, Canada where it is currently minus 25 degrees celsius (except it feels like -40 degrees celsius with the windchill) and have lived here for over 25 years of my life.

U5dtUupqXqivon2tbGDGdKKnPpL5fBS_1680x8400.jpg
Pretty accurate image of what it looks like outside my apartment building. Beautiful no?

Actually, it can be quite beautiful as shown by the image below of the Alberta Legislature building which is located downtown.

Now what about me?

I have an educational background in Kinesiology and Exercise Therapy but I'm a Software Developer by trade. Weird combination right? I'm one of those people who took something in University, realized that it wasn't for them and then went back to school later on. Luckily, I grew up being a total nerd who enjoyed playing video games, creating digital art and building computers. The transition from Exercise Fitness to Software Development wasn't so harsh. In fact, I enjoy the dichotomy of being a person who enjoys weightlifting after a day of developing software, or jokingly, a brogrammer.

17353336_10158428027310611_1517096563796973605_n (1).jpg
I love poptarts and oreos. #IIFYM for life.

Total bro right? Haha, not quite. I've always grown up being the nerdy socially awkward kid in school and was very fat. It took me till Grade 11 to realize that I could do something about my weight - which consisted of reading Men's Health Magazines and running on the treadmill every day while listening to the Rocky soundtracks.

165149_10150345081720062_3232738_n.jpg
My humble beginning of where I learned that heavy squats can induce spontaneous vomiting.

Even though I am now a Software Developer, I still enjoy working out as a hobby and a fun way to release some stress. About the same time last year, I went on a weight loss diet from 190lbs (after bulking for a few months) to 169lbs using IIFYM (If it fits your macros) while doing a 5 day a week strength program.

Screenshot_20180131-223615.png

I tracked my calories using MyFitnessPal, tracked my progress using spreadsheets and I was ready to get some results.

Screenshot_20180131-223833.jpg
Screenshot_20180131-223528.png
Screenshot_20180131-223732.png

There's just something about taking the time to being patient with oneself throughout it all and keeping consistent with the goal you set before yourself. Workouts were tough and so was tracking one's calories and macronutrients. Thankfully, IIFYM allowed me to be more flexible with my food choices as long as I was mindful what I ate.

Screenshot_20180131-224813.jpg
My drawer of goodies next to my desk at work.

At the moment, I'm not quite as fit as I was in the picture above, but I would love to get back to that point and document another weight transformation journey on steemit. And thankfully, I have a wonderful girlfriend to support and join me on my journey.

27022063_10159941743200611_1804670915148909951_o.jpg

I hope I didn't ramble too much. There is still a lot more topics I would like blog but I guess I decided with posting about fitness to begin with :) Thanks for reading about me and look forward to blogging some more in the future.

Sort:  

Welcome to steem! Looks like you have a great life up their in Edmonton! look forward to following your posts!

Thanks! It's super cold but it's a great place to live :) Same to you!

Welcome to steemit
There's so much prospect on this platform and so we would like to invite to our community @elitesteemians To Help you grow a follower base and get you up and going. You can also join our whatsapp group where we keep you updated on the best events on steemit. Link to group in bio.
Happy steeming.

Hi.. Welcome to Steemit

please follow me @daverdp..
I will follow you and upvote you

Thank you

Welcome to Steemit! I hope you enjoy your stay here.

Great post bb @blam! Almost as good as mine ;) hehe keep it up! xx