You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Dad Will Do Anything - My Introduction

Welcome to Hive, Steve (d-a-d)! It's wonderful to have you here, even though the reason behind your journey is to raise awareness about Duchenne muscular dystrophy (DMD). Your dedication to making a positive impact and supporting families dealing with this condition is truly inspiring.

I appreciate the valuable work you're doing through your charity, 79 Exons, and the focus on providing psychological counseling for siblings and families affected by DMD. It's crucial to acknowledge the emotional toll that serious medical conditions can have on family members, and your efforts to address this aspect are commendable.

Your work to light up local landmarks in red to raise awareness on World Duchenne Awareness Day (WDAD) is a meaningful way to draw attention to DMD. It's heartwarming to see communities come together for such important causes.

I'm glad to hear that you've already had a positive experience in the Hive community, and I'm sure you'll find many supportive individuals and communities here. The kindness and support of community members are some of the things that make Hive special.

Feel free to explore various communities on Hive that align with your interests, whether it's charity, health, or other topics. There's a diverse range of communities to discover and engage with.

Thank you for sharing your story and your commitment to making a difference. I look forward to seeing your contributions and getting to know you better here on Hive. If you have any questions or need assistance, don't hesitate to ask. Welcome again, Steve! 😊🕊️🧡

Sort:  

Hey - thanks for the welcome message. Yes, everyone here has been really inviting and already made it a standout experience. WDAD is one of those bittersweet days - I kind of wish i didn't know about it, because that would mean my son was healthy, but then, on the other side of that coin, how much good can come from being a part of that day as well? I'm not smart enough to be able to find a cure, but I can certainly use my skills to raise as much awareness of it as possible and help bring funds to those researchers who can find a cure. So, in a way, I am glad that we are a part of WDAD.

If I have any questions, which I am likely to, I'll certainly take you up on your offer to ask. Thank you.