How I got here

Hello Steemit,

I am BohemianHacks, some of you may know me from various places around the net. I have a varied set of interests and have done some fairly strange things in my life:

Spent a year being a hobo around the American southwest
Learned to play poker in a Las Vegas jail
Survived on acorns and spring water for a short time
Lived outdoors in the winter(Missouri)
Grown tobacco
Worked on set for some TV shows

Taught myself: various survival skills, farming, chemistry, carpentry, and code(python, c/c++, javascript mostly)

Some of my projects: reclaiming gold from old computer parts, building a 3d printer from scratch back in 2010, some proof of concept fountain algorithms, various life/evolution simulator games, algorithmic trade bots, raising chickens, living in the woods with minimal tools and supplies, built a house from the foundation up, and many other odds and ends in the middle.

Im not sure what steemit wants to hear about so let me know and I will start posting on any of those topics.

Excited to be here,
BohemianHacks

Sort:  

What an autodidactic person you are! :D

Welcome to Steemit
@shayne

Thanks! Thats one of my favorite words actually. Although "self taught" in the modern age of youtube and wikipedia isn't always fair. Some very good teachers giving lessons for free.

That´s living, mate.

welcome to steemit :)

Thanks! Seems like a pretty cool place so far.

Well your life seems interesting. Steemit community wants to hear anything you throw at it really ! Post about anything you like, you don't have to stay wraped up in one topic. Welcome to the community :)

Too many interests not enough time. Hopefully people like what I have to post.

I'm sure they will.

Welcome to steemit @bohemianhacks, I'd say posting about subjects that you are passionate about is the most important thing. Maybe write a tutorial on how to reclaim gold from parts? that sounds pretty cool.

I still have some pictures. That was my first thought as well, help some crypto people reclaim some value on spent GPUs.

damn, might be too late for me since i tossed out at least 5 GPUs in the past 10 years or so :(

Welcome to steemit community.
I’m @jyoungking2 Start by following people and they will do the same.
Please read the following address and press voting
https://steemit.com/kr/@jyoungking2/if-you-ve-started-something-set-your-goals
Good Luck
3.png

Steemit will be your absolutely favourite. Only on day four, and already totally loyal. The people are amazing--already even resteeming (like sharing, etc.) some of the videos I posted (I'm a singer-songwriter). It's crazy how good it is.

I don't get all the cryptocurrency stuff yet, but I find it fascinating,

Welcome to the family!

Xx, Kay

A warm welcome to Steemit! :)
bitmoji-20170618092611.png

Hello there @bohemianhacks and welcome to Steemit! I just upvoted you!! I hope you enjoy your time here and make lots of $$$. If you're interested in lotteries, please check my profile out @steemitlotteries. I run FULLY TRANSPARENT LOTTERIES with promotional posts where I issue FREE TICKETS for those who help me curate my promotions. All the best! :)

Welcome to steemit bohemianhacks :) I would love to hear more about the year you spent homeless, and in genereal survival stuff. It sounds like an interesting story!

It sounds like thats the topic several people are interested in. I will post some specific stories soon. :D

'living in the woods with minimal tools and supplies' Please tell us some stories about this, would be very nice.
Have a nice time on Steemit!

Sure, I will try to post some more specific stories soon. Do you know any tags I should use to get that to people would be interested? Thanks for the support!

Hmm, I don't know. Maybe Life, Nature, Traveling or Freedom? You could check the trending page and choose some of the tags that fit to your post.

A big warm Steemit welcome goes out to you Bohemianhacks! :-D

Upvoted and High Paw.

IMG_1439.JPG

Welcome. Where in the southwest did you do your hobo-ing, or freelancing? :-)

Los Angeles, San Bernardino, Big Bear, and Las Vegas are the areas I spent most my time but I traveled through several states.

You seem like a well rounded person. That one guy everyone wants around during the zombie apocalypse. Welcome aboard.

Welcome to steemit community...@bohemianhacks

A big warm Steemit welcome goes out to you Bohemianhacks.

Upvoted and High Pawed! :-D
IMG_1439.JPG

Flatrider