#introduceyourself: Digital entrepreneur & social media professional

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

I am a digital entrepreneur and social media professional, but that really is just a small part of who I am and more of what I do with some of my time.

IMG_4150.jpg

I have been an entrepreneur for as long as I can remember. I think my first entrepreneurial activity was selling hand-made boomerangs - made from two rulers glued and taped together (which worked surprisingly well albeit rather a dangerous toy now that I think of it). I was around 11 or 12 at the time and business was good until other kids realized they could simply DIY their own.

My next venture was selling sweats and candies at school based on pre-orders and profiting from undercutting the school's 'tuck shop' prices. I was 12 or 13 at the time and understandably, my business model did not go down too well with the school who shut me down before I could make some serious money ('serious' being enough to buy a new Lego set I had been eyeing for the holidays).

In high school I meddled in various business ventures ranging from growing seedlings to a school advertising publication. It was the latter which would set me on my true entrepreneurial path which I am still on today.

PointBlunt Multimedia Productions was my first official company I started. It has its roots in the above mentioned publication (and chance encounters with various people who I would not have thought of ever meeting). The publication was part of a compulsory school project which I pursued even after the project was completed. It was profitable and I thoroughly enjoyed the whole process. In 2000 I officially launched PointBluntPro and 17 years later it is still running.

I am now currently a branding and marketing consultant and do both freelance and contractual work with private and corporate clients. My experience and experiences have brought me to a point where I can now help and guide others who are venturing along a similar path. As time has moved on I have launched various digital startups over the years which included NoizeCo, NSD Zone, Best Guide Inc, Namib Watches and more recently CryptoQuad.

Apart from 'normal working hours, I like appling myself and offering my skills to organisations that I feel can be significant in the success of others. Thus, I am a founding board member of the Professional Speakers Association of Namibia (PSAN), a former board member of Team Namibia and Pambili Young Designers, and was the founding president of the Namibian Electronic Sports Association (NESA).

I was raised in a Christian home with a family that was very active in church life. I worked as a youth minister for ten years and help start and grow various youth groups and youth programs. My family are also very musical and this enabled me to turn my passion and talents into a 'side career'. I a music teacher for five years and spend many hours in recording both as a session musician for local artists. This has let me appeared on various national youth, arts and church forums.

When not 'working working', I enjoy working on designing board and card games (which I hope to launch via crowdfunding platforms), working on my fiction and non-fiction books which I intend on self-publishing and playing video games (which often can feel like work).

Much of what I do and have done has been as a result of my passion for learning and teaching along with my fascination with people and technology, especially where they meet. This is why I love crowdfunding, crowdsourcing, cryptocurrencies, smart contracts, IoTs etc and believe my future will most probably always be an integrated part of these.

Believe it or not, but I am not all work and no play. I am very happily married to the very first love of my life and am incredibly blessed with two beautiful and healthy children. I currently reside in Windhoek, Namibia.

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit community...

What a wonderfully written intro you got here.

Do read my below recipes to have a successful steemit experience.

RECIPES FOR SUCCESS

  • Be yourself, originality matters a lot. Write and submit quality content at least three times weekly.

  • You can get into arguments but without being disrespectful to people to avoid down votes

  • Upvote and follow posts that interest you...as well as people who upvote and follow you. Reciprocity matters. However, be careful not to exceed 20 upvotes per day as doing that will begin to deplete ur steem power. This is important.

  • Spend sometime to comment on other people's posts daily.

Observe this rules and success will follow you. Wishing you best of luck in your steemit activities.

I'm @eurogee. I long for success and always on the lookout for the like minds.

Be my partner in this pursuit of SUCCESS

A new Steemian :-) hello @brendanihmig I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community ! Nice post, Wish you much luck! I Have upvoted and will follow your account. Don't hesitate to contact or follow me at any time :-) See you around @tradewonk

Welcome to Steem @brendanihmig I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Thank you and thanks!

welcome Brendanihmig !! I hope you enjoy here as much as i do ! Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me ...

Thanks - will return the favor.

Hey there @brendanihmig! Welcome to the platform :]

G'day @brendanihmig! Welcome to the platform :]

Welcome @brendanihmig aboard the steemit express. This is a great platform to express yourself just like any other social media outlet except this one pays its users for interacting with each other. Post good content and your rewards can be limitless but always stay true to yourself.

@slickhustler007
#minnowtowhale
#minnowsupport

Hi

Welcome to steemit. This is an amazing place with awesome content. Look forward to seeing some of your posts. Come and have a look at @yoda1917 I am sure you will find something there interesting and I give my best to help the new people :)

Regards

Yoda

P.S, here is an example of my work.

https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@yoda1917/what-the-value-of-bitcoin-and-gold-is-derived-from-the-common-place-of-these-2-polar-opposites

@brendanihmig - Welcome to this amazing social platform. Looking forward to see some more informative posts from you.

Hello Brendan, welcome to Steemit family and our ever-growing platform. You have made a great decision by joining us and helping us to create decentralized entity that will change the way social media and other business models work in the future. I would like to help you out in your early days by using my steem power to upvote your first few posts. Simply follow my account and tag me by @czechglobalhosts in your posts and I will make sure to read your post and upvote you! Good luck and steem on! Tomas

Congratulations @brendanihmig! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @brendanihmig! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome to Steemit community, nice to meet you.
I am very happy to share with you, I invite you to follow me at @chantha, Thank you, hopefully in the future we can share in this best community and can support it.
I can not wait for your best postings. See you ...

Welcome to the community. your introduction was very nice. Followed. Follow me back 😘

Welcome to steem fellow Namibian. Definitely following you.