Greetings to you my fellow Steemians!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

It's good to meet you, my fellow Steemian!
The cypto-space is still so small, at only 200 million people world wide as of 2017.
All Steemians are one of the first humans to begin building "a world of we", from the already decaying rubble of "the world of I".
I admire you for that!
Blockchain enables "radical inclusivity" for financial services and Steemit's unique approach has made the benefits of blockchain for blogging accessible to anyone with internet.
I am serious when I say I am proud to be here!

So what am I doing for the decentralised community?
dOlympics-Logo2.jpg
I am rebuilding the stale business model of donation dependent, global charities using blockchain and virtual reality to create an extension of Dan Larimer's Decentralized, Autonomous Co-Operative which has community wide charity elections and tournament proceed donations. Think esports and the classic Olympics had a baby in VR and you can bet on sports match outcomes.
A Decentralised, Autonomous, Charitable Co-Operative (or DACC).
Users can speculate on their own skill at sports games in VR or optionally spectate and speculate in VRE tokens on match outcomes. Users can also set percentages of speculative winnings to be donated to charity alt coin addresses.
This just boils down to "I want to make the world a better place" in the Brock Pierce sense how does my objective benefit positively 1 billion people? I don't know yet fully, but it's been a fun journey so far finding out! I can explain more if anyone is interested about my VR DACC. I'm pre ITO right now, presale sometime in Q1 2018.

A bit about me:
I like to write. I also like to write code. I drink a lot of milky tea with honey.
I was the one of the first Oculus VR devs on the scene in 2013/2014. Now I mainly code virtual reality apps, before that I coded games in 3D for mobile and web and before that LAMP stack style web sites. I've traded on Forex markets before bitcoin was invented. I was an early miner. I accrued a whole 0.8btc as an enthusiast from CPU mining and then GPU mining back in 2011-2012. I since wiped my drive with my address and holding back in 2013, which I now thoroughly regret!! :( Still I am a fan of live and learn.
Speaking of learning, I learn a lot from reading. I am a fan of Neal Stephenson, Bill Bryson and De Botton.
When I'm not delving through the Matrix in a code frenzy, I like to think about and research about all sorts of things from smart cities, psychology, health, crypto, ICO/ITO, tokenised virtual economies, travel, history, nano tech, epigenetics, biology, physics, BigPharma/BigAgro, mathematics, economics, fractal brain theory, virtual reality, game development and theory, EEG tech, hardware/wetware, philosophy, religion, spirituality, Modulated ultrasound techs (Ultrahaptics), 5G, SciFi, anthropology, archaeology, aliens, ancient civilisations, martial arts, Binaural beats, meditation and practices like heart coherence, dreamscapes and lucidity training, DMT Pineal interactions and the "pre-orbito frontal cortex" functions, electromagnetic theory, Schumann resonance and the ethers, radionics and more recently, Piezo electric effects on liquid crystal bio matrices (like us humans).

Karl Jung said "We are all lights of the world", yet the heat and infrared produced by your body is a form of light which means there is some actual truth to that statement. So thank you for reading and I'd like to part by saying, I am pleased to meet you as one of the "first lights of the crypto world space". Hodl!

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit, @brokenpoet!

My profile is @flashfiction and i would like to present you some links i found really useful when i first signed up here. They will make you start with the right foot on Steemit!

These links will all open on the SAME TAB (Yeah, i know...), so i recommend opening them with "right click->open in a new tab".

LinkCheckDescription
Growing FastTopYou HAVE to register here, if you want to build an audience FAST. It's a free service for boosting exposure, upvotes and followers. You just have to click on "login". Have your key at hand (That awfully long number you got when you signed up on Steemit). The tutorials are easy to follow.
All about steem coinsTopThere are three coins of use on Steemit, and understanding them is critical for your success. This is a short explaining video, the very best i've found.
MarkdownTopEven if you can use some basic HTML on your posts, the correct way to format them is NOT HTML. You use a marking ruleset called, yeah, "Markdown". Have this as a complete reference.
PostingMediumThe top activities on this site are posting, upvoting and commenting. This is an excellent tutorial about making your posts look great. Don't miss it!
UpvotingMediumYeah, you tought upvoting was just a matter of machine-gunning your clicks and make easy bucks. Nah. It is actually a little more complicated than that. All you need to know is here.
Better interfaceMediumLet's face it: The interface on Steemit is pretty basic. "Busy" is an alternate interface you can use, more polished and easy to navigate. Both of them can be used simultaneously. Again, you just have to login.
Using BotsMediumThere are a lot of things to learn about this platform, and understanding bots is one of the most important. They are little different services you can access for a fee. I found this tutorial extremely useful.
Trevon JamesMediumI know, i know... there are lots and lots of GREAT steemians here for picking one to recommend, but i just love Trevon's style. He explains EVERYTHING you need to know about Steemit (and crypto) in a funny, accesible way. Check him out.
@flashfictionAwesomeWell, duh. My profile! ;) I write short fiction and tutorials on creative writing. I would be honored if you'd follow me.

Anything i cand help you with, i'm at your service!

See you around!

@flashfiction nice links and thanks also for the splendid welcome :)

Congratulations @brokenpoet! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment
Award for the number of upvotes
You got a First Reply
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hey there, welcome to steemit, have a good day here :)

Thank you for the welcome. I wish you a good day too. Namaste :)

Welcome brokenpoet, I hope you enjoy things and have fun posting.

Thank you :) I'm still noobing my way around the Minnow guides, but I'm finding it very exciting to be part of the Steemit and Dtube revolution in incentivised social networks!

Welcome brokenpoet. Enjoy the platform and just be yourself! :)

Welcome onboard! Hope you'll find it great in here..

Welcome to steemit from @lopezdacruz. All the best in your steemit journey.

welcome from another newbie ;)

Hello brokenpoet, welcome to Steemit! :-)