Living on a small island, without a bridge, without cars. In Stockholm, Sweden.

in #introduceyourself8 years ago

Hur e leget?


Hi all, my name is Anders and I live on a small island just outside Stockholm, Sweden. I am a big fan of the crypto currency revolution, all the smart and crazy people, the humor and the controversies, and your know... that feeling of a new world just around the corner. That same wonderful feeling we had when internet became mainstream, some 20 years ago. What I think about Steemit? Finally, I think, we have reached the end of the beginning. This could be a killer app for crypto currencies.

Thats me. Seagull: courtesy of my daughter

Work, work, work, work, work, work...


I am also a researcher, specialized in image analysis, image processing and related fields such as machine learning. I code mostly in Matlab and Python, but I am also trying to pick up JavaScript and modern web frameworks for hobby projects. My work life involves math, programming, writing, teaching, guiding some PhD students and managing research projects.

Crypto Currencies


When it comes to crypto currencies, I am mostly into collecting bitcoin and a small selection of alt coins. In small amounts. I also enjoy using my research skills to analyze and understand what is happening in the crypto currency world. I also used to do mining some years ago, heating the house for a whole winter with a set of 280x and 7950s...

280x

Life


At home? Thee kids. A wife. A house. And some boats.

Too many boats?

This island I live on


The island I live on is called Tranholmen. There are no cars here, and 6 months every year there is no bridge connecting us to the mainland. Depending on weather and season, I commute to work in my own boat, by car, take a ferry, walk on the ice in the winter or ride a bike . Sounds like hard work? Not really, I can get to downtown Stockholm in about 20 minutes. But living in the archipelago does add some viking edge to my everyday life. But being at sea for some minutes every day, even in rain, hail, snow or mist, is always the best part of the day.

The winter bridge. Gore-Tex shoes is a must, some days.
The winter bridge


And you know, docking is an art form...!

Here on Tranholmen we have a vidid community, in total there are some 180 houses. We share boat rides, share boats and barter and borrow food and stuff. Among other things, for instance, I am a pedal boat part-owner. Pedal boats actually take a lot of cargo. It is a good example of the sometimes unusual solutions people here come up with, to cope with the logistics of living on an island. I hope that we will start using crypto currencies too one day. In fact, I am sure we will, in some way or another!


Pedal boat

Back to business


That's all for now. I will to bring you some more posts about the island in the future. About fun projects, research and crypto stuff. Steemit feels fresh and a bit unpolished, and I love that. Lets experiment and start creating that new world, today!

Sort:  

you live a far more interesting life than I.
Keep it up!

welcome to steemit have a good time