I am a Guinness World Record Holder

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

PLEASE READ TILL THE END

Guinness_World_Records_logo.svg.png

When I made my first and introductory post here on Steemit 5 months back, I did mention the fact that I have a Guinness Record under my belt - read my introductory post. However, I did not get into finer details which I will do here.

a11.jpg
L to R: Guinness official, Honda Cars India President, me, Shantonil Nag

I have been an automobile journalist here in India since 2005 and we sold an idea to Honda Cars for a great marketing initiative for their sedan offering, the 'Amaze'.

AIM - To break the (then) current record for the longest journey in a single country

FINE PRINT - This had to be done by the same team, in the same car, without taking the same route twice

a6.jpg
With media (mumbai) and Honda officials

VERIFICATION - We had to get two witness signatures per day, make videos of every single day and ofcourse have a GPS device monitoring our every move. Partner in crime for this epic drive was close friend Shantonil Nag.

RESULT - We covered 23000 kilometers in 55 days by driving around India. From smooth expressways to freezing Himalayas, from sand dunes to coastal roads, we did it all

a7.jpg
Splashing it up on the West Coast of India

MARKETING - We met customers at Honda showrooms on weekends and though this slowed our overall pace, this was essential for the 'connect' factor. Plus these meetings also allowed us to interact with the local media.

a1.jpg
With the ship of the desert

This happened in 2014. The record has now been broken and belongs to someone in the States. Driving around India for 55 days wasn't easy. Spending 8-10 hours in the car on a daily basis started showing its negative side. Eating out every single meal made us put on weight and other issues. No workout time, daily blog deadlines and natural calamities kept us on our toes.

a8.jpg
Freezing Himalayas

However, in the end, it was oh so completely worth it. Proud to have this title. We had to roll out videos on the move every week. Here are some examples!

First Leg

Second Leg

Thanks for tuning in. Feels great to refresh old memories :)

Do you know you I am giving away a Lamborghini for FREE to the best reply to my post.

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit!
I am a bot built for the purposes of welcoming new users! I know that steemit may seem very overwhelming to you right now but don't worry. There's a learning curve to everything so just be patient and you'll be churning out posts and becoming a part of something great in no time!

Also if there are any questions that you may have, then just ask your questions on any of my blog posts or in a reply below and I'll be more than happy to assist you with whatever questions you may have! I will also be creating a basic starting out guide for all minnows and newcomers on my blog so do give it a read as that might help answer many of your questions!

Have fun and I wish you LOADS of success on here! :)

Also. you can call upon originalworks whenever something you post is your own content like this: @originalworks

Regards
@welcome-to-steem

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @bunnypunia to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Cool, noted

Wow! That must have been one hell of a ride! Congrats to both of you guys. Nice video too. I'll take some cues from your video for making my next few travel videos! ;)

Keep me posted. I have some plans to capture the North Indian snowfall this month. Lets see :)

And no words for your better half? Who allowed you to be away for so long? #notgood #notdone

Did you ever have any issues with the car? Did you take extra spares and did you service the car on the road or at one of the Honda dealerships that you stopped it? Obviously 23,000km would be well over what the manufacturer recommends for service intervals. Sorry for the 1000 questions, just really interested :)

No issues with the car - serviced every 10000 at Honda workshops. Didnt take extra spares but had a back-up vehicle with video camera person. No issues on the questions :)
PS: Lovely profile picture @nelkeljdm

Wow that is awesome, was the backup vehicle a Toyota? Hehe! Thanks man, that's my GT-R :) There's a bunch of pictures and videos of it and my other JDM cars on my profile :)

How in the world did you know that? Yes, the backup vehicle was the Toyota Innova MPV!! And yea, checking out your profile right away. Followed you as well

Haha, every backup vehicle is a Toyota! :)

Welcome to Steemit from Indonesia, this is an amazing platform for creativity and imagination. Share, comment and make friends

Been doing that for the last 5 months :)

welcome from another newbie ;)

!originalworks

That sounds like an awesome adventure. You should be proud of yourself for sticking with it and not giving up. :) I'm sure being in a car so much was probably rough. You have some great photos too. India looks like a beautiful place. :) I'm from the U.S. and haven't had the chance to do much traveling, but I would love to see the world someday. :)

Hey @kristyleann, thanks for dropping in.
India is HUGE and full of surprises. Make a plan once to drop in someday in your life. Cheers.