You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hello steemians! Self-intro & What a time to be alive (really!)

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Howdy to you too
That's the beauty of questioning everything right? I love being proven wrong :)

So I really like your ideas re: renewable vs readily available energy. I feel the concept of 'renewable' only came about as a juxtaposition to 'non-renewable' i.e. fossil fuels. Agree it has never quite sat right with me either and I'll admit they're still not 100% environmentally neutral or even renewable (because we can't predict when the sun will shine or wind will blow tomorrow, let alone 50 years' time!).
If I could re-name it I'd probably go along the lines of 'fuel-free' or 'free power' - something to capture that they have zero marginal costs and zero fuel costs once built, as you can take advantage of the 'readily available' open access and free resources that are wind, sunshine, waves etc.

Definitely something to explore further - thanks for the insightful comment!