A Struggling Late-Blooming Entrepreneur

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

I’m a 40 year old guy from Kansas. I’ve got the personality characteristics of a good, loyal employee, and tragically so. Finally, after years of work depression, mounting debt, and struggling to eke out a living on a paycheck that was increasingly failing to pay the bills, I decided to go into business for myself.

I bet a lot of us here on Steem are entrepreneurs of various stages, the new, the old, the successful, the struggling, and the simply aspiring. (Watch out for that last category, it’s easy to get stuck there indefinitely.) Anyways, not knowing what else to do, I decided to start one with one of the easiest start-ups of all, a lawn service. Not too many businesses you can start for under $1,000. I know, not very ambitious, especially for someone who doesn’t want to expand to manage a crew of workers. Still, on top of my part-time job, which gets me through the winter and supplies my family with medical, dental, and vision insurance, I am now slowly paying down my debts. There is now a light at the end of my very, very long tunnel!

It took a few years to build up my clientele, but now that I’ve stopped my backward slide into debt, I am planning what to do next. During the winter, when the grass isn’t growing, I have a fair amount of time on my hands. Last year, I had hoped to publish a book or two on Kindle, but didn’t get anything done. I did start selling stuff on eBay though, so there is that. I’m hoping to grow my sales, but will need to move beyond my current inventory sources to do so. I’ve got my foot in the door, but am not making enough money compared to the amount of time that I’ve invested into it. Not by a long shot!

Science, technology, and history all fascinate me. I really should have pursued a technical career of some kind, but let myself get sidetracked in my youth. I consider myself an amateur writer and artist. Those skills have suffered terribly due to neglect over the last twenty plus years. I’ve got pages and pages of sketches and outlines, summaries, descriptions, etc., and still hope to do something meaningful with them one day.

That’s me in a nutshell. I’d love any helpful advice and please feel free to share your experiences as entrepreneurs. Hope you are all well. Here’s to a future filled with success!

-Caith
Keith Head Shot.jpg

Sort:  

Welcome to the Steemit world!

Thanks!

Congratulations on taking a $1,000 risk... And having it pay off. The first step is always the hardest.

_Rob

Thanks, Rob!

Welcome aboard! Pursue what you can TODAY, life is short, publish THAT book, go to that one'' place you keep dreaming to visit. There's ALWAYS a way.

Good advice! Thanks!

Welcome to Steem @caith I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Much appreciated. Love your user name!

hello Caith:) Nice to see more people like you - here joining steemit! Becoming a steamian is a great adventure! Here you can win money while bloging ! At the beginning it wouldn't be easy, but it isn't impossible. So just write from your heart and everything will be allright. Wish you much luck! Cheers! Greetings, @mekong!

Thanks. I appreciate the encouragement!

Welcome! I hope you prosper here!

Thanks!

You're welcome.

Hey ; I'm personally trying to start a project to help people start their own business, along with help people connect with ideas and other such methods to help grow as a community .
You should follow me - and I've followed you ! * Edit ; also - you absolutely can start a business for under $1,000 !!

Sounds good, thanks! I'll keep my eye on you.

Welcome to Steemit!

Thanks!

Congratulations @caith! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @caith! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

welcome to Steemit. I do hope that you have a wonderful time on this platform, if you have any questions or if there is anything I can help you with do not hesitate to ask, I will be more than happy to help.
If you would like to stay in touch please Follow me @Fshllc

I appreciate that, thanks!

Thank you for the follow @caith, I am glad to be connected to you on Steemit.
Check out a blog that I just wrote, I look forward to your feedback by commenting, I find you like it you can upvote. Resteembot if you think your audience will find it beneficial. Have a wonderful day :)
https://steemit.com/food/@fshllc/health-benefits-of-bananas-and-banana-chips-as-a-healthy-snack-choice

Welcome caith, I hope you enjoy it here! This is a great place for a multitude of reasons; I’m sure you’ll find plenty of your own.

I am going to follow you and ask that in return you follow me. But take note, this type of following is almost a moot point. After all, wouldn’t you rather be following people with similar interests? OR following people whom are like minded?

Just my two cents, but welcome all the same. At my site, @carltong; I have blogs on scams, easy to use faucets, and more. I don’t link to any of these in this letter, because I want to genuinely welcome you to Steemit. It’s that great an invention, lol.

Here is my best advice for you:

”If it seems too good to be true, then it’s NOT true.”

I lost over $1000 at BitcoinsBrain, and almost got taken by FexFund; I was given this advice once; “be nice to everyone and don’t trust anyone”.

Whatever the case, WELCOME HERE. Say hi once in a while and I’ll try to do the same.

Enjoy,
@carltong

Sounds good. Thanks for the advice!