Twitter vs Steemit, is this the right place for me?

I’m an independent researcher and currently working on designing an online schooling program that is quite different, as far as I know, from any other education system out there – more about that in later posts.

I’d been thinking about coming to Steemit for a while, but just wasn’t sure.

Then two things happened to seal the deal. The first thing was I became unhappy with twitter. I have around 4000 followers, mostly folk with some sort of interest in education, but I don’t entirely fit in. Don’t get me wrong, it’s a great place to connect with similar thinkers, but I’m also BIG into the crypto world and, what the young people call, “normies” on twitter don’t get that.

You only have to look at the recent ban on crypto advertising at FB to know the future of that topic is not looking good on mainstream social media. Don't even get me started on shadow banning.

maxresdefault.jpg

The second thing was that recently I’ve been thinking about incorporating blockchain into the school design I’m working on, and Twitter is not a place I can really get feedback on that. I felt like it would be hard to get ideas and help there, more likely to be ostracized.

rexfeatures_3258203a.jpg

So here I am in the Steemit community, and what better place to learn more about the decentralised world than right in it with people actually walking the talk.

I know EVERYONE on Steemit gets crypto, at least enough to sign up, and I think I’ll be more comfortable here long-term. I hope I’m right!

WHERE AM I FROM?

I’m based on a small island (population around 7000), called Waiheke, just off the East Coast of New Zealand (home of the flightless Kiwi (small Ostrich?) and popular altcoin exchange – Cryptopia).

kiwi-6-441x441.jpg

I love New Zealand, but travel for business and pleasure as much as time and money allows. Pictured here on my beautiful Island home Waiheke (voted 5th best island destination in the world by lonely planet apparently). It's mid-summer here.

IMG_8203.PNG

I have a Bachelors in Applied Science, in Communication and Psychology, a Masters in Science, in Psychology (neuroscience/language), and I also have postgraduate diplomas in Science, which focused on behavioural science, and in particular applied behaviour analysis (ABA).

Those sound fancy, but really anyone with access to Google, a good library, and youtube (soon Dtube) could know as much, if not more, about those subjects than me.

I call myself an Educational Behaviourist (I made that up by the way). Basically, it means I’m focused on education and my psychology approach leans towards behaviourism and behavioural science.

MY PASSION, GRIT, WHAT EVERY IT’S CALLED NOW

Education is my thing. I think most people are concerned about education. I don’t meet many people who are over the moon with the current system, the opposite in fact.

As a child I thought my school was bad, but it was actually pretty good, even by today’s standards. It breaks my heart that children aren’t getting, at the very least, the education I got 30 plus years ago. That’s really what prompted me to do something about it.

I will be blogging about all things education and giving my opinion and musing, but also the facts backed by evidence. My blogs will probably come in the form of videos from Dtube, which I really only discovered this week!

Of course, I’ll be talking about the school project I’m working on, and hopefully getting valuable feedback from the community.

FUN FACTS ABOUT ME

  • I’m 47! Yes that right, Steemit isn’t just for the youth anymore.
  • I’m big on staying healthy and plan to live to at least 100.
  • I can hula hoop, but strangely don’t use that skill.
  • I’ve made mud bricks and helped build our home with them.
  • I lived in a house truck for a year.
  • I scuba, snorkel and LOVE the ocean!!
  • I own a gardening business and sometimes even help in it – very therapeutic.
  • I have friends that work in the cryptocurrency DNotes.
  • I love dark chocolate.
  • My family has tried to ban me (haha tried to), from saying the words blockchain, bitcoin, and cryptopia.

My goal here is to provide good content relating to education and to spread the word and get advice about the project I’m working on. Plus I’ll dabble in some crypto chat.

I look forward to sharing what I know with the Steemit community, and am pretty confident that as far as twitter vs steemit, this place wins hands down!

Thanking you in advance!

Sort:  

Hi.. Welcome to Steemit

You are definitely right, this is a place where you can rely on for a long term. =)
Welcome to steemit @carolyn.eichler have a great stay here I know you have a lot of great ideas and content to share. =)

Thank you, your welcome is reassuring :)


Welcome to Steemit @carolyn.eichler

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?
Let me know if I can help.
Many blessings!

Thank you for the welcome and offer of help, much appreciated! I’ll check out those links too 🙂

Certainly!

I believe you will find this to be an outstanding group of people who have migrated here from the other not so outstanding networks, which are finding it somehow within their rights to dictate freedoms to save us from ourselves. Oops I got on a soapbox. Sorry.

Love the ostrich!

I’ve been reading your links. I love data and strategy, most interesting 🙂

Thanks for taking the time to read through. There is admittedly a lot of posts already, I just cannot stop writing. :)

Hi.. Welcome to Steemit

please follow me @daverdp..
I will follow you and upvote you

Thank you

Welcome to this very great platform...
You can check out some of golden's project post to know how steemit runs

Thanks golden I will!

Welcome to Steemit. Thanks for sharing.

Thanks for the welcome!

Very great intro about yourself.
Welcome to Steemit!
I'm new here too!

Hi, thanks for the welcome! Hope to see you around.

Greetings! Oh I can so relate. I mean, how dare FB ban crypto ads. Hello! It's 2018. I'm older than dirt. 2 of my kids are older than you. I think my socks are too.

I've been involved in the digital world forever. Once during a class on cryptography someone asked me how someone my age could know anything about technology. Hah! Doesn't the name Ada Lovelace mean anything to the new generation?

Haha I did seriously wonder if I would be the oldest on here, maybe the oldest woman anyway. However, I’ve long ago noticed that biological age plays little part in mind age. People see an old person driving slow and think it’s age related. No it’s just the risk takers are usually dead by that age 😂

Hahahaha. Great reminder -- yes the risk takers are usually dead by now. I just did a post about that very notion, that biological age plays a very little part in mind age. In my mind, I can do hand springs.

Just read it! Loved it!

I just found you because you commented on @praada's baby post. No, you're nowhere near the oldest woman here. Not even the oldest kiwi woman. That would be me, I think. And @len.george is probably the oldest kiwi man. Have you checked out @teamnz? I know a couple of people who live on Waiheke, but i imagine there are hundreds there.

très bien bon poste continues

Hello Carolyn im new on steemit ill be looking forward to you posts

Dont forget upvote me too

Congratulations @carolyn.eichler! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @carolyn.eichler! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!