You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Grand Opening Steemitchocolate.com All Prices in SBD

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

I feel like your anger may be misplaced, OSHA is there to protect the workers, and one needs only look up a video or article of the many accidents that happen due to employers failing to meet their regulations to see the devastating effect this can have. I remember one especially shocking video of a new temp worker going to the lower floor to mop when, due to insufficient oversight of precautions to take before employees are allowed to push any buttons, he gets crushed to death in a matter of seconds.

Not saying your business is running the same kind of employee-squishing operation, but I've seen and heard of too many people getting maimed or losing their lives to not throw it out there that while these fines may seem harsh or unnecessary to some, they are protections and life and limb-savers to the working class.

But I will say, the stuff you're selling does look good, and at a fair price too.

Sort:  

Where in the Constitution does it allow the federal government into your property for any occasion, no less this nebulous concept of "worker safety"? In a private contract, I don't need the government telling me a place isn't safe. I'll decide. ...and the price for my labor will be determined accordingly. That's why the guys who maintain the cell towers in all sorts of weather, make the big bucks. We don't need our government to be our "mommy", thank you.

Exactly.

so... tell us about "ABC Soup Gang"... Do you also have a food related business?

ABCSoup. Check your email.

Until you have a person come with a book YOU HAVE NEVER SEEN OR HEARD OF with 10,000 rules the thickness of the Bible (actually thicker)and then come and take YOUR HARD EARNED CASH WHEN NOTHING HAPPENED to ANYONE in 40 YEARS in BUSINESS, YEAH..... I think I can handle MYSELF.

I am EXTREMELY disappointed when I hear the public DEFEND OUT RIGHT THEFT FROM SCUM AT OSHA.
PEACE,

By the way worker safety IS important. BUT WORKERS have a CHOICE too. What happens is that your idea of safe is not as stringent as the next guy and so on. When does it stop, some people are ok with working on slippery dangerous floors because they are careful, some people are IGNORANT and never learn from their mistakes, I NOR anyone ELSE should be punished by or JUDGED by anyone, that is CALLED FREEDOM.

By the way. The U.S. IS a corporation. It is a FACT look it up. Earth is Flat also haha!

One last thing because I let myself get triggered. Here is the real problem. A guy needs a ladder to change a bulb. The first guy says you need a special ladder for SAFETY reasons, then another person comes and says you need to secure that ladder to the floor or I would be uncomfortable, another new guy comes along and says I need a net under the ladder in case a earthquake happens, then another guy says he also must have water while he is on the ladder or he becomes dehydrated.....and on and on until you end up with OSHA's COMPLETE BOOK of INSANITY. Sorry brother but there is a thing called PERSONAL RESPONSIBILITY, thats WHO I AM NOW, and if you don't like the FREAKING WORKING CONDITIONS, GOD GAVE YOU A BRAIN, NOW USE IT I SAY (as in leave and find an employer who cares about his employees! At one point I paid a valuable office manager 30% more than I was making at the time, she was/is worth it.

Thanks for the kind words about our chocolates also haha! I will upvote you at FULL POWER because I respect ANYONE who speaks their mind, RIGHT or WRONG.
And maybe I AM wrong?