My first week on Steemit

It has been a week since I started looking at Steemit and joined the Steemit platform (thank you Vincentb for the encouragement and your videos!) and it has been a wonderful delightful educational week, full of curiosity and surprises. I have enjoyed writing my blog posts about my real passion which is cooking, finding old recipes, authentic Welsh, Irish (sense the name) Scottish, Cornish, Breton and Spanish (yet to post about this) recipes. I am vegan (but cook non-vegan for my husband), following a diet, looking for old grains for flour and for baking. I am researching Ayurveda, as well as the Celts and connecting with people keen on Crypto-currency in Wales. @pennsif I wish I could do the meet-up.

Nantes P7060182.JPG

I travel alot as a professor to conferences and seminars and sometime not on my own. This is what an Americano coffee means for the Italian's in a cafe next to the Colosseum in Rome. I think the waiters were laughing at us (Americans!).

P1030634.JPG

I don't really understand Steemit yet, but I am following those with new ideas about the platform and I am following those who want an alternative; alternative lifestyles, alternatives economies, and those who are interested in the economic freedom, that Steemit, maybe could offer.

In my real job I teach sustainability and all of these ideas, these problems, with the ways we can create as our future are on my agenda. This was Nantes Brittany and a meal of with Breton cider. The Dalai Lama was in the town the weekend we happened to visit and all the cafes and restaurants were full to overflowing with people for the event.

Nantes A tipsy.JPG

Thank you for reading my blog posts. If you want to look at my posts for the week here they are:

Galette des Rois (French Recipe for 12th Night) https://steemit.com/food/@cliodhna/kings-day-12th-night-and-a-recipe-for-a-french-galette-des-rois

Breton Far (Authentic Breton Recipe) https://steemit.com/food/@cliodhna/cliodhna-s-food-recipe-1-far-breton-from-nantes-brittany

Welsh Strawberries https://steemit.com/wales/@cliodhna/strawberries-from-wales

Iowan Winter https://steemit.com/travel/@cliodhna/clear-water-lake-iowa-at-minus-17-degrees-centigrade

Cypriot dry bread https://steemit.com/food/@cliodhna/sesame-seed-bread-sticks-from-turkish-cyprus

The Best Mince Pie Recipe in the World for Ex-Pats https://steemit.com/food/@cliodhna/cliodhna-s-food-recipe-2-part-1-the-best-ever-british-mince-pie-with-a-mincemeat-recipe-from-scratch

Thoughts on Anarchist Cooking #1 https://steemit.com/food/@cliodhna/anarchist-cooking

Thoughts on Anarchist Cooking #2 https://steemit.com/food/@cliodhna/anarchist-cooking-2

The Absolutely Best Ever Welsh Cake Recipe in the Whole World https://steemit.com/food/@cliodhna/welsh-cakes-authentic-regional-recipe-3

My Ayurvedic Vegan Breakfast Recipe https://steemit.com/food/@cliodhna/simple-and-delicious-vegan-and-gluten-free-recipe-spicy-chickpea-pancakes (my favourite)

Iowan Winter Again (its very cold here) https://steemit.com/naturephotography/@cliodhna/minus-26-degrees-celcius

Sort:  

Hi @cliodhna,

I read your post. Firstly it was wonderful knowing you . Your passion for cooking is something which attracted me the most. Even I love cooking and my most favorite section in Steemit is the food section. I try making most of the recipes shared by the steemians here. I am going to check out all your recipes. Thanks for sharing.

Try the British Mince Pies, they are better than anything you could buy in a shop in the UK!

Hi @robertsekhose

I hope that you would love to try some of these recipes.

Healthy Coffee Oat Smoothie - https://steemit.com/health/@technological/healthy-coffee-oat-smoothie-recipe-of-less-than-5-minutes

Ayurvedic Recipes - https://steemit.com/ayurved/@technological/healthy-ayurvedic-recipes

Healthy Dark Chocolate Oat Cookies - https://steemit.com/health/@technological/healthy-and-delicious-walnut-oatmeal-dark-chocolate-cookies

Please let me know if you like them.

I really liked it...all are great...have a great day @technological

Welcome to SteemIt Cliodhna. I am new here as well. Steem is just amazing and versatile. I love this biosphere.

The food is looking nice and I know a thing or two about Ayurveda too.

I am sorry, but why were they laughing at you? Coffee is looking good.

Hi I'm interested in Ayurveda and have been on a Vegan diet and cooking mostly lentils, vegetables and rice. I'm making my own bread of an old flour grain (Einkorn) and I was really trying to find out whether there was an old wheat variety in Ayurveda.

Hi!

I have created a new post on SteemIt about Ayurvedic recipes. https://steemit.com/ayurved/@technological/healthy-ayurvedic-recipes . See if you find it interesting and let me know your opinions on recipes as well as the post. Sorry, I am new on Steem and I am not able to decide whether my post is good or not.

Thank you!

I am not aware of a wheat variety. However, the ayurvedic principles suggest you to cook food in open air and allow the exposure of sun, i.e. pressure cookers must be avoided.

Also, insist on complete digestion of food, instead of eating healthy foods. As, healthy food when wrongly combined becomes unhealthy.

Turmeric is very beneficial and anti-cancerous besides many other benefits. It must be consumed regularly.

One must drink water slowly as it helps calm down pitta. Unbalanced pitta causes a lot of diseases.

I find these principles to be interesting and effective.

Hi! Turmeric is one of the most important Ayurvedic herbs. I have recently written a post about the medicinal benefits of turmeric.

https://steemit.com/health/@technological/medicinal-benefits-of-turmeric

Please let me know if you found the post useful.

I am taking turmeric everyday as a pill and also have bought fresh turmeric which I put in my cooking. I like ayurvedic medicine alot. I also take trifala.

The coffee was HUGE about a whole pint of it, when the Italians drink very small coffees.

Oh. My cups are always big, so I could't understand. I am a coffee addict and I totally love it.

Hi, me too new here. Hope to have a amazing journey on steemit together.

Hello @cliodhna welcome to steemit....it's really great to have you here.....it's amazing to know that you have love for food....I am really looking forward to try your recipes.

This was a good read, to know your hanging in there like me, joined jan 1st and really enjoying it all.
Great share.
L

Hi, Thank you! Me too. There are some interesting people and posts (and photos) and I am enjoying connecting!

Hi there and welcome to steemit. I'd love to see some of your recipes. I used to cook for a living and I am also into vegan dishes, although I am not fully vegan myself. I just enjoy healthy cooking ideas. Nice to meet you. I hope that you continue to find steemit to be useful to you.

Hi Thank you! I am vegan but I am also trying to be low sugar and that's hard when I like cakes - I am working on it. I am enjoying the platform and connecting with others and those wanting alternative food habits, lifestyles and living.

great post!! you got a good thing going!

Hi, I am enjoying posting about cooking and I have real passion for recipes and authentic healthy cooking and from all countries so it is wonderful to connect with others.

Hello there! It's great to celebrate your milestones on Steemit. It reminds us how far we've come. I too just posted a milestone recently, and I'm so glad I joined this wonderful community. Cheers!

Thank you! It is nearly two weeks on Steemit for me now!

Well, you sure sound interesting. I'll have to keep an eye out for your posts. Followed😊

Thank you! I am following you too!

Well, I post so infrequintly that I I'm afraid that you may come to regret that decision. Though, I am terribly uninteresting. If that kind of thing appeals to then jackpot!

You're too modest!

You wound my pride!!😧

Welome steemit...
Regards @cliodhna

Thank you! I am really enjoying the platform.

Welcome to Steemit from the South West UK. I am resteeming this post as part of the Steemit Newbie Resteem Initiative. Our goal is to basically help new users by increasing their posts exposure on the platform and provide advice. In regards to your comments on meet up's, I occasionally run walk with me meet ups centered on historical sites. If you scroll down my blog you will find these as we recently did a small one. Feel free to ask any questions you may have and look forward to your posts.

Thank you, when I am back in the UK I would like to do the meetups.

Welcome to Steemit, I hope you have fun here. Best of luck!

Thanks @mikej I am enjoying people's posts and especially all the foodies out there!

Hey welcome to Steemit! Its a great place hope you will enjoy here !! I am too newbie here !!
I have followed you on Steemit, please be kind enough to follow me as well.Enjoy Steemit !! Good luck!!Following your post!!

Hi, I like dancing too! There's so little in the midwest but enough to blog about too! I look forward to your posts too!