Hi Everyone - Introducting Myself

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

()

Hi Steemit. I arrived here about a week ago and am finally getting brave enough to post, though I hate introductions, and I hate pictures of myself more, so this is probably the only picture of me I'll be posting!

I saw this place mentioned, I think on Reddit, as a possible refuge from the massive social media opinion censoring going on in many other sites, like Facebook, Twitter and Google, and decided to check it out. I haven't been disappointed yet! The content I've seen so far here has been amazing.

I'm interested in everything from politics to food to spirituality to holistic medicine, and I hope to find some good people to follow who post on these subjects. As I alluded to above, I'm also very interested in alternative viewpoints in things like news, politics, and medicine, which I've been seeing all too often being squashed and brushed aside in our current corporate controlled state. I currently work in animal health - and yes I know this is going to sound cagey but I'm not going to be more specific in order to fend of a host of questions I know I can't answer. I do have a huge interest in animal behavior, and may write posts on that in the future.

I don't mind sharing pictures of my animals though!

()

This is my dog, Merlin. He's way more photogenic than me. He what I lovingly call my "Mutant Sheltie". He was born a "Double Merle", or a Merle/Merle cross. Merling happens when a mutant gene causes a color dilution in a dog's coat, giving it a bluish or reddish appearance. If a dog gets one copy of this gene, they end up with spots of a solid color with larger areas of the diluted color, and patches of white. A normal merle usually looks like this:

Source: pets4homes.co.uk

A normal merle only should have one copy of the merling gene, because the pigment that gene forms is defective. If two merles have puppies, any that manage to get two copies of this gene don't form pigment correctly, if at all, and end up all or mostly white. The problem with this is that these pigment cells are important for forming other structures, like sensory cells in the ears and eyes. and so most double merle crosses end up blind and deaf. Shelties can also be born with a condition called microopthalmia, where the eyes are far too small for them, and Merlin has this defect as well.

So he's my mutant, but he doesn't care that he can't really see and can't really hear, and is far more willing to sit for pictures than I am, so I may just post more about him in the future.

So that's me, and my dog - mostly my dog - and my penchant for rambling about random animal facts. Happy to be here, and hope to find people to follow who can teach me even more random facts about life, the universe, and everything!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem @cortyne I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Hi, I'm new too :) Good luck

Thanks! You too!

Hi and welcome on steemit. I hope you like it here. Enjoy your time and good luck!

Congratulations @cortyne! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome to the community!

welcome! Glad to see you here. Hope you dont get as addicted as I am to steemit! ;-)

It’s already happening, i assure you!

Hello ! Welcome to the conmunity !!👍

Welcome to the community!

Good luck

A new Steemian ^^ hello @cortyne I hope you enjoy your time here,
its a great community ! Nice post, wish you much luck! I will follow your account.
Don't hesitate to contact or follow me at any time :-) See you around @thisistanvir

Welcome to steemit @cortyne. Join #minnowsupportproject for more help. Type in the comments of a post @OriginalWorks and it will help you verify that content is original.
Transfer SBD to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Transfer SBD to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @cortyne to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

greetings and welcome

Happy Steeming !! @cortyne
It's interesting to see you into everything from politics to food to spirituality to holistic medicine.
I would be happy to get connected to you.

It’s quite the eclectic mix, I know. But it keeps me reading and keeps me learning.

Likewise, You are my type.
cheers !!

Hello @cortyne, I hope you are enjoying Steemit!

This is a great place with a great community -- glad to have you around!
follow @gauravgpt60 for future steemit instructions and Cryptocurrency predictions to get much better results and success.

Congratulations @cortyne! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - Special attendees revealed
Meet the Steemians Contest - Intermediate results

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @cortyne! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!