Hello, Steemians! I'm Russ - U.S. author, Dad, and Old School Gamer

170513-121730.jpg

Hello everyone!

I'm science fiction and fantasy author Russ Linton or @cr1ms0n8a11z (Yes, the handle is something of an inside joke. You'll need to read my first novel for the punchline.)

I've jumped aboard Steemit for a number of reasons. To address the first concern, I do write for a living and while it would be nice to use this platform to make some money, that isn't my primary goal. My goal is to experience the community here and learn from you guys about this emerging technology.

The main reason I'm even here though is because of my wife. She's a cryptocurrency convert who started a mining operation in our garage early last year. Her new "hobby" quickly fascinated me (so much so that cryptocurrency plays an integral part in my upcoming release). When I mentioned it would be nice to apply those concepts toward a way to distribute creative content and be compensated for it, she quickly said, "Oh, that's Steemit."

And here I am!

I've been lurking for a few days and have been impressed with what I've seen. I'm not personally big on social media. As a writer, it's something of a necessity but not anything I feel I've ever quite taken to or mastered. In fact, I'm kind of terrible at it. But the energy here seems infectious, positive, and different from most other places I've visited online.

I'd like to talk about writing of course and maybe share some stories. However, I'll also be reading up on blockchain tech, commenting on gaming (both board and RPGs - dice and people at a table mostly, though I do have quite a few hours logged on the other Steam...), Netflix series, and geeking out about the latest Marvel movies as well. I'm also into camping, hiking, and travel - which we plan to make a lifestyle sooner rather than later. I'm looking forward to getting to know everyone!

Thanks,

Russ

As further verification, I've published my Steemit address at the following locations:
My Facebook Author Page
Amazon Author page
and My website (though I seem to have lost my social media links on the main page...off to find them.)

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit!

Nice comment wizardry - thanks for the welcome!

Hey Russ, welcome to Steem!

Hello, Russ! Welcome to Steemit:)

Happy to be here - thank you!

Welcome Russ! Great introduction. Will be fascinating to read your future posts.

I'll try to keep things interesting. We'll see :)

Welcome to steemit @cr1ms0n8a11z,

Thanks!

You are welcome,

Hey Russ, if you are an author of personal development or have positive message to share I will love to interview you. Welcome and many blessings to you. YouTube.com/EnVivoLive is my interview channel and will be posting them here as well.

Thank you for the invite though I'm not sure my work qualifies. I'll take a look and see.

Welcome to Steemit!

I appreciate the welcome!

Welcome to the community! Follow me at https://steemit.com/@bitgeek