How I Learned to Stop Worrying And Love BTC - My Story

Hello, world.

Low-Rent Twitter Personality Goes Blogging

Some of you may know me from my Twitter account, @Cryptobully, where I shitpost random thoughts on cryptocurrency, bitcoin, blockchain, trading - and, much to my followers chagrin, the occasional political post.

I have been kicking around the idea of starting a blog and recently ran a Twitter poll asking whether my followers thought I should. Surprisingly, it appears y'all are generally on board. But it was made VERY clear that I should stfu about politics. lol - fair enough, guys.

Someone suggested Steemit, which seems like a cool idea. And if I'm talking crypto, I ought to use the crypto platform, right?

Who The Fuck Is This Guy?

Anyways, I figured I'd spend my first post letting people know a bit more about my background and how I ended up in $CRYPTO. I'm a practicing corporate attorney based in the U.S. I have practiced law for both a huge multinational law firm as well as a Fortune 50 corporation. I've focused my career primarily on corporate finance and mergers and acquisitions, so I've worked a great deal on corporate valuation, restructuring, securities, and takeovers. This is where I'm coming from.

I started looking into crypto earlier this year when one of my clients wanted to buy a blockchain company. I remembered thinking "so it's like how I download music in college [read: BitTorrent - don't fucking @ me, RIAA], but for money instead of music. Okay." Seemed like a good enough idea, so I bought a several hundred $ETH for $12 on Coinbase. I bought $ETH because I liked that it had corporate backing and seemed undervalued. Boy, was I right there! I'd go on /r/ethtrader everyday and tell everyone about how $100 moooooon was right around corner and the flippening and other annoying things we all love about /r/ethtrader.

I now steer completely clear of ETH, but that merits its own post. It mainly deals with cat purses...

I kept seeing people post in /r/ethtards about Golem ($GNT), and wanted in on the action, so I created a Poloniex account and sent a few $ETH over. I picked up some $GNT, which promptly spiked. I thought I was a fucking genius (I wasn't), but I was hooked. I've been slangin' shitcoins ever since.

Trading Philosophy

Since I started actively trading in April I'm up about 400%.

This isn't to brag. In fact, I actually think it's quite bad, considering my lucky ass timing entering the market. I mean, if I would have just HODL'D my original $ETH investment and sold at $400, I would have like a quarter of a million bucks (ugh, this is a bummer). And it's probably a heck of a lot less gains than some folks.

But I pissed away a lot of potential profit due to stupid newbie mistakes--overtrading, chasing pumps, buying tops, selling bottoms, etc.--which I'll discuss more in separate posts (so hopefully you can avoid the same mistakes, if you're just starting out).

My trading philosophy, like many traders I follow, is to slang shitcoins and turn them into more $BTC. I, hopefully, buy dips, short tops, and continue to accumulate more BTC.

Do You Give A Shit Besides Anything Except Money?

Short answer: not really, but I'm starting to...

Considering my heavily corporate background, many of my followers have been suspicious of my intentions and wonder why I spend my free time consorting with all these nerds and misfits. Well, candidly, I'm here to make money. This is the bleeding edge (or Wild West, depending on your POV) of finance at the moment and I see the opportunity to build a decent portfolio. If McAfee doesn't end up eating his own dick on live TV, we'll all be rich as fuck in a few years.

But I do believe that blockchain technology represents a watershed moment in technology. Really. It could legitimately change the world. And decentralization poses a serious threat to incumbents, particularly banks. Regulators and governments are, understandably, freaking out about it. And the emerging ICO markets are beyond fascinating.

So I've slammed a big glass of the $BTC Koolaid and am here to write my thoughts on these (and other) topics. I hope you leave your comments. I'm always interested in other folk's opinions and frequently change my mind.

Cheers,

`CB

Sort:  

Hello @cryptobully! Welcome to steemit! :)

Nice honest post ! Good luck!

Hey @cryptobully, welcome! Been following you for a couple of months in Twitter. Will do the same on Steem. I wish you tons of succesfull trades ;)

Hello @cryptobully Great post!!

I'm @andyluy and I've been here for a a month, a can tell you that steemit is the most amazing thing I've ever seen at the internet so far. I'm happy seeing it grows every day!

I had some hard time on the firsts week, so I spent some time searching information to improve my experience with steemit, latter I've decided to make posts about those things in order to help the new ones to have a shortcut to get deeper on steemit.

here is some of my posts, I hope It mitght be helpful to you:

SteemBnB
Usefull steemit tool
The Randowhale
Getting videos from facebook
Minnowssupport!

Here is one post from @yoda1917 That i think Is useful to have a look too
just halt for a moment

I intend to keep posting useful info that I may be able to gather, and in a near future some give away. Feel invited to follow me and if you have any question about steemit you can ask me in any of my last posts, I'll try my best to help.

Great post. I entered end of May so a bit late in the game..since I have invested in coins that I like the projects of (Golem/Cloak/PPY/Wagerr/etc)...I do give some sht that way!

Could you take few minutes to review my ICO Review Series, the latest of which is about BitClave. I don't care for upvotes, just candid feedback. I know I put in lot of research/work behind these reviews and need candid feedback from those in this space.

I will find you on twitter! my handle is cryptohome...

Upvoted!

I've enjoyed your twitter feed the past few months, glad you're on steemit now

Good to see you here, have been following :)

Welcome to Steem @cryptobully I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Welcome to the Community, Cryptobully ! Wish you much luck! Cheers! Follow me .

CryptoBully CryptoBully tweeted @ 23 Jul 2017 - 21:01 UTC

Thinking about starting a blog where I shitpost my $crypto/legal/regtech/trading thoughts in longform. Free ofc.

Thoughts?

PhillyTesta Alen Bayrock tweeted @ 23 Jul 2017 - 21:12 UTC

@CryptoBully If you could do that and leave out the crap about Trumps presidency your blog might get really yuge. https://t.co/8I8gI5gh4U

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

Welcome to the Steemit Community! I hope that I can add value to you in teaching about self discovery life hacks. I am learning a lot and so will you, follow me @zimi

Welcome! Please consider checking out minnowsupportproject.com and @minnowsupport. It is a great community of individuals that will help you get started and can answer all of your questions.

Congratulations @cryptobully! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Nice story @Cryptobully its my first day in Steemit too
Welcome to the decentralized social platform

yo,
follow me back man

Great first post! Will definitely be following you. Always enjoy learning about the background of other crypto investors.

Welcome , interesting post ! check this...

Welcome to this amazing community!! Followed. Follow me back 😘