My Introduction

WIN_20180120_07_13_26_Pro.jpg

Hello everybody!

My name is Dakota and I first heard about Steemit from a friend of mine. I looked more into the platform and thought to myself "this is one of hell of a great thing." The same friend also got me in cryptocurrencies awhile back, we are generally pretty bored while deployed...

A little about myself, I am overall science enthusiast with a background in Biology and Chemistry. I currently perform research on ticks and tick-borne infections. Aside from academia, I enjoy hiking and exploring my oldest daughter and look forward to continuing this in the spring, but with a GoPro to capture all the shenanigans and great views. I am also an avid gamer when I find the time.

I have always wanted to write blogs mainly aimed at education and research. I see Steemit as the perfect opportunity to start just that.

IxSFRBD.png
Ixodes scapularis (female) or commonly known as the black-legged deer tick -Courtesy of I

I wanted to keep this short and sweet, hope you enjoyed hearing about me, (I don't like bragging or talking about myself) I look forward to posting in the future and hopefully you might too.

Thanks for looking,

-Dakota

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit! I'll look forward to your next posts!

Hello @dakotashade Welcome to Steemit, the House of Opportunities I hope you enjoy every second within the community and give your best at every moment.

Your content is important for the platform, create 100% Original content, express what you feel and that a few dollars is not what motivates you, believe me that if you do it out of passion and love to create, the money will come by itself. The good is always accompanied by good things.

Motivate every day to be the best and motivate others to be even better than they already are, perseverance, passion, love and desire to Create will be the key to your success within Steemit.

@bigdude Thank you for the wonderful words of motivation. I intend to do just that

welcome to steemit!! feel free to visit my blog as well... specially if you want to know more about Brazil!! Cheers

@samillee Thanks! I will and I have a few acquaintances in Brazil that do research, it's such a beautiful country. Hopefully, one day I will get to visit :)

Hello and welcome to Steemit!
Looking forward to your posts, that will probably be about science, biology and hopefully ticks. I am biologist myself, working on yeast at the moment and actually never heard about anyone working with ticks, haha :D

Haha! That is fantastic, what exactly with yeast? Brewing? cultures?
There aren't many of us that work directly with ticks from an organism perspective, but there are tons that work with the diseases and other issues they cause. I'll look forward to your posts as well

Well, I am currently working with Saccharomyces cerevisiae and try to understand nucleo-mitochondrial communication. Haha, but yeast tend to get a bit boring after time. In the future I plan to maybe work with ants or some social insects. :)

Welcome to Steemit, I am also new. Great job with the post

Welcome and thank you, us little guys gotta stick together