This is my vanity post

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

This post is about me, a little about you but mostly about what I can contribute with to this community.

Here it goes

I am a software developer with a passion for community building and coding.

I've been writing on Medium for about 1.5 years until I recently learned about steem from a member of my coworking space and it hit me into some kind of sobriety: yuss, this is how a publishing platform should work! ... now I just need to learn how it works ;-)

What am I bringing to the table?

I write a bunch about Google technologies. But as a disclaimer, I am not being paid to do so. I've been advocating their cloud platform (GCP) for quite some time because I think that they're delivering rock solid products and tools for developers.

Talking and writing about GCP and especially #Firebase got me invited to the Google Developers Expert program earlier this year and although that hasn't affected much in how much and what I write about, it surely has increased the amount of public speaking that I do.

But a fair bit of warning before you're dropping everything to send me an invitation to your awesome hackathon. I am pretty sure that I'm a mediocre public speaker at best. But I really love doing it. I used to have stage fright and speaking in front of anything more than 5 people in a group would make me stutter. So what I might lack in suave TED talkish stage presence, I make up in passion and I do my talks in Swedish, English and Indonesian.

GDG Surabaya 2017

This was me speaking at Google Developer Group Devfest in Surabaya 2017. I seem to be doing a claw grip with my hand which probably was to illustrate some powerful concept of utter importance.

IAK Awarding 2017

I wear short pants without shame to all sorts of events and places. I keep telling myself: at least I'm wearing shoes for the occasion.

Coworking

I am pretty passionate about this coworking thing. From time to time I'll probably be posting or resteeming something about community activism. I am also writing for the @kumpul coworking space account in both English and Indonesian.

Coworkfest 2017

OT

Apart from being pretty consistent in posting about coding and coworking. From time to time I am getting off the beaten track that we call topic and you might find me posting some random snapshot from my daily life under #seeingwithmyeyes

Who are you?

I don't really know you yet. But please hit follow me on steem if you enjoyed this article. I hope to get to know you better in the comment section of my articles. Do ping me if you're also writing about similar topics, I love to read really good and nerdy articles.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem @dennisalund I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Thanks 🙂

You're really saving me the trouble of putting labels on you.

Welcome to steemit Dennis!
Since you are developing software you must check out @utopian-io! Its a platform which rewards developers for contributing to open soure & much more!
I resteemed you via @welcoming where you may find other promising newbies! Greets and good luck here!

Thanks, I read a few of your articles about when I just got here. I hope that I showed proper appreciation, I am still learning my way around the mechanisms for rewarding good content properly.

Glad you find them worth appreciating ;) You will find your way here - if you have specific questions, just ask them!

Welcome..... to the new world. Cheers.

Thanks 🙂

Welcome. I pray things turn around for you. Good luck!

I'm kind of hoping they'll stay on track :-) But I think I know what you mean. I appreciate that very much :-)

very warm welcome from us:-)

Thank you, the welcomings has indeed been very warm and friendly.

Welcome onboard, @dennisalund. Good post, glad to know atleast you know what kind of articles you will be posting here on this platform nice work. Keep it up. Cheers!

Thank you, glad you liked it. I'm hoping that steemit will become a full replacement for what I'm currently posting to Medium... need to start working on my exit strategy :-)

You are most welcome. Feel free to post anything you want here. Keep working on your exit strategy and do share how you did it too if you want to. :)

Hello Dennis! Welcome aboard! I am Wiwik, Faye's old friend from Aceh. I am very sure you soon will be a star here because you are a software developer. Steemit has a very big room to grow for such people.

Hi Wiwik, wooah, hebat juga bisa konek ama temannya faye di dunia maya. I really hope that someone find my articles useful. I like to tinker with stuff and writing down my findings stated as a way for myself to remember and be able to look it up later when I had already forgotten how to do it :-D

Wah, keren, bahasa Indonesianya lancar jaya :D. That is a good reason to write about things in a blog like Steemit. Sometimes we forget about things we have done. I myself often forget the recipe of a certain dish, so I have to check my blog again :)

welcome to steemit the best community out there. you will find out that everyone has passion in here and is kind, so if you have anything to ask just do it anyone will answer you! so welcome again and have fun!

Thanks, it's very comforting to hear. I'm very impressed with the warm welcomings and positivity here.