Hi I am a low level domestic prepper and will be posing a series of practical solutions to potential systemic world problems

IMAG0094.jpg

There is a middle ground between burying your head in the sand and all out preparation for the end of the world.
I stand in this middle ground. I believe life is meant to be lead to the full, climb that mountain smell that flower. However for your own peace of mind a small amount of pre preparation should anything go wrong is always a wise council.
As not all of us can afford or want to move to remote locations and load up on amo, and many of us live in cities and suburban dwelling places. I have devised a series of simple coping strategies when and if the economic paradigm we are living in now comes to an end.
The topics I will cover are low cost solutions : How to temporarily restore AC power to your home, how to temporarily restore water into your taps and sanitary disposal system. The types of food that are best storing then forgetting about.
I am not going to cover Economic coping strategies as this is covered by people a lot cleverer than me, people like Gregory Mannarino , Michael Maloney etal.
A little personal information about myself, I am an engineer, I do play the didgeridoo and the bagpipes pretty badly ha ha..... I may torture with that for a laugh maybe at some point.... At the grand old age of 62 I am taking on my first Triathlon in August, I am also a biker so there you go :) See you later :)

IMAG0094.jpg

Sort:  

Great, we live out in the jungle, haha your orange jumpsuit looks like you in county!

I work on oil rigs lol... getting ready for work :)

Time to start finding yourself some new work! Not getting ready for it!!

Welcome! I look forward to reading your future material. The way I look at is that we pay insurance on our cars, home, health, disability, etc. Having some basic emergency things ready is just another form of insurance. And it is much cheaper than those other type of insurances. Food and water reserves are cycled through and never wasted. Same with other prep stuff - it's never wasted money and it's there if you need it for a hurricane, flooding or whatever. Take care! - Thats Life

I could not agree with you more. The beauty is once you have laid reasonable foundations, you can get along enjoying your life with an untroubled mind. Cheers :)

I am a mild 'bug-in' prepper too. Welcome to STEEMIT - the new home for preppers, gold bugs and fiscal conservatives wanting to avoid censorship. Good luck with your posting and your triathlon in August. You are never too old. SK.

Thanks man, I am in the final prep stages, starting to string together the disciplines. I think 'mild bug' is the way to go, that way you do not invest all your life and energy waiting for the end. To be honest I did fall into that trap for a short period before I realised. Cheers :)

Welcome to Steemit!

Thanks Dave, it takes a bit of getting used to :)

Nice to have you on board! Follow me at https://steemit.com/@bitgeek

Congratulations @didjadream! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

Upvote this notificationto to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @didjadream! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

New japanese speaking community Steem Meetup badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @didjadream! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 10 replies.
Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!