Hey Steemit! Finally introducing myself - my novel and original narrative series coming soon!

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemit!

My name is Doug Karr and I started writing and making films when I was sixteen (I'm now 37) and this month has been one of the best of my career as a commercial director. I directed 3 projects for 3 different brand new clients, a narrative comedy spot for James Allen/Google, a Tretorn shoe commercial that stars Andre 3000 and spot for Lands' End. All creatively fulfilling in their own way, and I'm hugely thankful for the work, but with the increasing success of my commercial career, my own filmmaking aspirations have taken a back seat.

dk_bioshot.jpg
(On the soundstage in Toronto, directing my 2009 Sundance Short Ten for Grandpa)

So, this seems the perfect time to finally introduce myself and get in gear on Steemit! I've been on the platform for 10 months and have been planning my media offerings the entire time.


(Here's a little steemit intro video I put together)

I'm developing a web series exclusively for Steemit, and plan to launch my novel on the platform, as well as writing insights and crazy stories about parenting, growing up in a Tibetan Buddhist community (read: cult?), my experiences living all over the world: I was born in Paris, spent my teen years in Canada, a formative year in Malawi directing a documentary as I hit my twenties, then round the world ticket for another year before landing in NYC for the last dozen years. I feel so fortunate to have had all of these amazing experiences and I'm excited to share my world and work with Steemit and help grow this amazing community.

Steemit Intro.JPG
(during an awesome hang with the family yesterday at Coney Island)

One of the highlights of my life was having a short film, Ten for Grandpa, accepted to the '09 Sundance Film Festival. Not just because I got to go to Park City and have massive door open in terms of career and ability to make art, but also because on the first day of the festival I caught sight of the girl I would eventually marry sitting at the filmmakers welcome desk. When I came back to score more ski lift tickets a couple days later, there she was. I got the tickets and we've been deeply in love ever since, made a life together, a feature film (Art Machine), and now have two wonderful little boys, Travis who's nearly 5 and Wesley who turns 2 in September.

IMG_3677.JPG
(In the Colorado Rockies a couple weeks back, with my lovely wife Aimee and our little one Wesley)

IMG_3723.JPG
(my little champ, Travis, getting his first trophy for T-Ball, we went to a BBQ that evening and he carried it the entire party)

_MG_2742_crop2_small.jpg
(And here I am having with Andre 3000 on set last week)

September will also mark a year that I've been on Steemit. I can't stay passive any longer. One of my biggest points of pride is that I've supported myself through my filmmaking and writing since the age of 18. Steemit seems like the next evolution of that potential -- a way to collaborate, create, and directly distribute to an audience while getting paid in the process. I've had a dozen feature films in development, one had Alan Cumming attached as star and executive producer, been paid by a studio to write a script about an 8 inch tall ballerina, spent time volunteering at Riker's island to research a script I wrote for years that eventually won the grand prize in a screenwriting competition... and the common denominator is that at the end of the day I had to go out and ask the Studio gatekeepers to open their wallets and allow me to make these films. Even with everything going for the projects, years have gone by and I don't have nearly as much to show as I'd like for how much I've written. I believe that as Steemit evolves that can change. The true democratization of media rests in this amazing model and I'm hugely excited to take part.

So with that in mind, I've decided to premiere my crime novel, Dwelling, on Steemit and I'm actively developing a crypto thriller web series (with an exciting star) that I'll be directing and premiering on the platform soon.

a_dwelling_postcard_NEW2.jpg

I've been working on the novel for years and it's a huge thrill for me to finally offer it up and begin a direct dialogue with readers. And I believe the web series will help take narrative film on Steemit to the next level.

I'm so excited to be here and finally present myself and what I have to offer.

Thank you & Steem on!
Doug Karr

PS. You can check out more about me here: http://piefacepictures.com/

Sort:  
There are 3 pages
Pages

Welcome to steemit :D

Nice to have you on board! We'll be looking for a director for our feature film very soon. Let's keep in touch! Our film account is @steemfilm . Looking forward to hearing more!

Hey @brian-rhodes I'd love to hear more about your feature film & @steemfilm looks super cool! let's find a time to chat.

Well done post You deserve for getting Upvote from me. I appreciate on it and like it so much . Waiting for your latest post. Keep your good work and steeming on. Let's walk to my blog. I have a latest post. Your upvote is high motivation for me. Almost all Steemians do their best on this site. Keep steeming and earning.

This comment has received a 0.08 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @hamzaoui.

Welcome on Steemit, @dougkarr ! :) Will be really interesting to read your articles!

Thanks @herverisson! Loved your Rome article!

Dear, red carpet welcome on steemit. May your journey on steemit be fruitful. Have a gift from my side in terms of upvote.

This comment has received a 0.05 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @qasimwaqar.

Hello, welcome, that everything works, And good luck here with your web series, and success.

Thanks @anacristinasilva much appreciated!!

Wow, awesome! Can't wait to read Dwelling and start watching the web series.

doug, i gotta say. im super jealous man! I'm a colorist and editor from NYC, and I've been trying so so so hard to break into commercials and scripted work. Keep up the great work. Looking forward to following in your footsteps and working on some great material some day.

Hey @crushvisuals. I'd love to see your work. Always looking for a good colorist!

anytime @dougkarr ! If you're okay with it, I'll send you an email using your Pie Face website?

Welcome man! I am an actor myself and love what you have to say. Also, great news about the web series you are producing. I was apart of a couple of web series' a couple of years ago, one of which was called Johnny Dynamo that ended up having some pretty nice success and I think helped the web series market take huge jump in the right direction. Enjoy Steemit and all it has to offer and good luck with your novel an the web series! Giving you a follow for sure!

Thank @danmarcoll if you ever find yourself in NYC give me a holler and we can make something together!

Will do Doug! Will be state side around Christmas and maybe will make my way up to NY then.

Awesome! Hit me up on Steemit chat when you do!

Full power upvote. Thanks for your donation, and giving all!

Glad I stopped over, Andre3000?!?!?! Man that brings back memories! (Of listening to The Outcast, not hanging out!) Thanks!

Thank you so much @Papa-Pepper!! And keep up your fabulous work!

@dougkarr your welcome to this great platform. You started your career early in life, you have achieved a lot for yourself. I wish you the best of luck in steemit.

Thanks! Likewise!!

@dougkarr

I think you nee a specil welcome as you hit the steemit ground running...your narraives shows the quality of the content we shall be awed with from you...your quality photographs are awesome..beuiful family worthy of commendation and smile charming...keep it up...( as you are a family man see my short story on family versus office in my blog...you will love it)

A little advice...ensure you take more time and build enough contact /followers here in steemit... follow successful stemians like @kenhudoy and keep all your content original. I ill update a post for new stemians/ minnows over the weekend, keep following to get them...

Be aware, we care and love you and wish you a big welcome!

i need to make a introduction too

Welcome to steemit..!!
Followed you.. please follow me too @prashanthak

Welcome, I am new also, regards, anybody want visit my blog? Thanks

Welcome to Steem @dougkarr I have upvoted and sent you a tip

very cool! and welcome gave you a follow

Hi Doug, welcome to steemit.
Hope your stay here is a pleasant and wonderful experience.

Thanks Steve! Very excited to finally be posting my own stuff!

Looking forward to your content :)

me too...nice reply @redchair123 and good to support our new member...

Congrats and welcome man. Would love to connect with you, message me on steemit chat or discord under the same username!

good one...nice t support our new stemians...

Thanks Justin! Will do!

Looking forward to it!

Follow me @irfanbocor thanks 😊

great post , Welcome to steem community dougkarr
I wish you more success

Thank you so much @theapple

Hello fellow steemian! @nezbong here! I am pretty new myself and just wanted to welcome you to the steemit platform. Let me know if you need any help figuring stuff out. I know it was hard for me at first. I am uprooting your post and following you. Look forward to keep up with your progress!

@nezbong thank you so much!!

Welcome to sreemit @dougkarr

Thanks klen.civil!

Welcome buddy! Hope you enjoy your stay.

@dougkarr Welcome to Steemit! I hope you enjoy it as much as I do. I have followed you. Please follow me back @molsen88! Take care!

Looking forward! Welcome to Steemit!

welcome to steemit.

I've Upvoted for sure. happy to meet you in this big family.
looking forward to your next post.
You can follow my food blog to know more about me @fatkid

Congratulations @dougkarr! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome to Steemit! Even though you've been here for a while. :)
shared on twitter

virtualtoken Virtual Growth tweeted @ 04 Jul 2017 - 19:07 UTC

Hey Steemit! Finally introducing myself - my novel and original narrative series coming soon! — Steemit steemit.com/introduceyours…
@Steemit

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

Thanks @virtualgrowth! Great to be finally getting my Steem going!

Welcome to Steemit Doug Karr. What a great introduction and super interesting life you have!

I'm sure that your creative talents will go down a real treat here.

Thanks for sharing your story. I look forward to checking out Dwelling! :)

Thanks so much @yogi.artist !! My wife is a prenatal + postnatal yoga teacher and I'm encouraging her to start writing and making content for steemit too. How do you find the yoga following is on here?

welcome on steem

Welcome to Steemit @dougkarr you will fit in perfectly here

Thanks @azfix ! I already feel right at home!!

Greetings from a fellow - albeit still unknown - indie filmmaker from The Netherlands.

I just upvoted your post and followed you and am looking forward to reading (more about) and seeing your creations!

All the best!

Thanks @vincentnijman looking forward to checking out your work!

Welcome. Looking forward to reading "Dwelling"....nice title. You seem very talented. Following.

You are a natural brother @dougkarr ! So cool to see how many talented and inspiring people are here on the Steemit !
LMAN.GIF

Welcome. So glad you found Steemit. It is a great community. You will have fun. Enjoy.

YOU ARE WARMLY WELCOME TO THE BROTHERHOOD.(STEEMIT ROCKS!!)
You are welcome to the best social media network on the planet. It is my desire that you find this place very interactive and interesting.I will always upvote,follow and resteem your post so please do same for me.You can contact me @sadiq .You are once again welcome my dear.

Hello @dougkarr , I'm glad to meet you on this forum, I can not say "welcome" because you are here before me! I'm fascinated by your work and your life, I want you to meet both professional and familiar, to live your Travis and Wesley boys, to enjoy them! I'm looking forward to your novel ... @alexcool

Welcome here @dougkarr !! Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @sanu

Great introductory post -- even if it's belated. 😉 I think sharing your novel on Steemit is a very interesting approach and a great way to get direct feedback from your readers. I look forward to reading it, as well as the accompanying dialogue.

Thanks @redhens ! Much appreciated! Looking forward to continuing the conversation.

@dougkarr welcome to steemit bro yes i would love to read your novel and wish you best of luck

Hi.. I m Sani, Indonesian
Plz see my account @kakilasak
I hope we can support each others, folback n upvote :)

Looks like you have had a busy month. Kudos to you! and welcome!

english
Very good and awesome for you mr.
And don't forget @vote-witnees @good-karma he's very special.

Nice to meet you.
I am @sallsteem from Aceh Sumatra best regards
Have fun at #steemit grab your success here
Thank you very much

sangat bagus dan luar biasa untuk anda mr. @dougkarr

senang berkenalan dengan anda.
saya @sallsteem dari Aceh Sumatra salam Kenal
selamat bersenang-senang di #steemit raihlah kesuksesan anda disini
terimakasih banyak

Great to have someone like you here on Steemit Doug! (Well, you've been here a while, but it's great to have you being active!)

The trailer of your work looks really great. Movies are the best medium to transmit ideas these days. For that, I envy you!

I've upvoted and followed you! Will be waiting to read and watch whatever you upload here.

You can check out my page @alexander.alexis if you're interested in philosophy, stick figure comics by someone who can't draw, and healthy recipes - and who knows what else I'll come up with in the future!

Steem on!

There are 3 pages
Pages