Steemit...Where No Introduction (Of Mine) Has Gone Before!

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

==Prologue==

Hello, everyone! I'm goign to tell you all a little bit about myself. My name is Rio. Well, that's not exactly true...my full name is Mario, but I've never gone by it. My dad has the same name and it just makes me think of him...or the Italian plumber. As much as I like Super Mario, he doesn't much remind me of myself either. Speaking of Super Mario though, it was the second video game I ever played. Shortly following my entry to the video game world through that and my first game, The Legend of Zelda, video games became a permanent passion of mine. I still have countless fond memories of those games and many others that I played in my younger days.

SI_3DSVC_SuperMarioBros.jpg

==Beginnings==

Most kids played video games, but they weren't just a random hobby for me. I didn't have the best childhood, but it certainly wasn't the worst considering the fact that I had video games. They made me happy during times in my life when not much else did. But it didn't end there. The influence of video games on my life went on to increase in gratuitous amounts. I started playing games on a PC and this sparked my interest for computers as well. I began playing some online games and met someone on a discussion board for one who quickly became one of my closest friends and still is to this day. I entered a new online social group and gained many friends online whereas before I did not have any. I still maintain contact with most of them and talk online frequently. I hated school, but I figured I should get a degree to do better in life. So once I finished high school, I had to decide on a major. The problem was that no line of work really interested me...until I had the thought that maybe I could make video games.

unnamed.jpg

Console.png
(This one is what it really looks like)

==Result==

I am now a game programmer at Blind Squirrel Games as of last April. They aren't too big of a name yet, but they are growing and I really like my job. Making games isn't just about having something to work on. It allows me to be a part of something special and create games that will affect everyone that plays them just as the video games I have played throughout my life have strongly affected me. Also because of my interest in computers, I met a special someone who is now my wife in a random online omegle chat while staying up late one night in college. I am a fairly happy person now and play games every day with my coworkers at lunch who love games just as much as I do!

nintendo-switch-splatoon.jpgbsd4Hq5.jpg
(Not actually me and my coworkers)

==Moral==

There were many times in my life where I felt down and depressed. In fact, for a long time it felt like I would never be happy. I considered dropping out of college several times and like I wasn't good enough to do what I do now. But because of video games and continuing to pursue them as my goal, things eventually turned out well. I don't hope to deeply inspire a lot of people with this post, but for those who read this and are going through similar things to me, know that there's definitely a chance for things to improve. And if anyone is currently looking to get a job in the game industry, let me know in the comments and ask any questions you may have. I would love to help if I can since I just went through the long process of landing a job. I guess that's all for my introduction. I'll make some more posts soon about gaming, a ton of other interests I have, and things I really think people should check out! But yes, as for this post, don't give up on your aspirations and keep trying. You will get repaid for your efforts, even if it takes a while!

(I also love Star Trek if you couldn't tell from the title)

Sort:  

Welcome to the platform and have fun.
I wish you the best! and hope to see you soon.

glad to see more gamers here.

Welcome to Steemit @eagleheart :)

Welcome Bot Banner

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful tips to get you started:

Welcome to Steem @eagleheart I have sent you a tip

Cool, upvote and follow you!

Welcome to Steemit!

Hey & welcome to the community, Ive given your post an upvote I hope it helps you on the beginning of your journey.

Super mario was one of my all time favourites as a child, especially on sega mega 😍😍

Please upvote my two blogs too :) we are a tight knit community and we succeed through team efforts.

Follow me if you would like to stay connected and continue supporting each other.

Peace :D

Congratulations @eagleheart! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @eagleheart! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @eagleheart! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Welcome to family :) Follow me back and I will surprise you on August 1 ;)